St Michael Royal with St Martin VintryEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry

London St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry
Londonstmichaelscollegehill.jpg
St Michael Royal
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for St Martin Vintry beginning 1617
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799; Separate records exist for St Martin Vintry beginning 1629-31; 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham and Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Martin Vintry church site
"St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry,the church of, stands on the eastern side of College Hill, Upper Thames Street. It derives its name from its patron saint and from its contguity to the Tower Royal, that stood anciently at the upper or northern end of College Hill. It was a spacious, strongly fortified and magnificent mansion, belonging to the kings of England and supposed to have been founded by Henry I. The church... has been a rectory from a very ancient date, and the patronage was in the prior and Canon's of Canterbury as early as 1285... Field church was pulled down and rebuilt in 1410, when my license from Henry IV, it was made collegiate of the Holy Spirit and St. Mary... Contiguous to this new College, which gave its name to its site, he also erected and founded an alms house, which he called "God's house" (hence the addition Paternoster), or" hospital" for the accommodation of 13 persons... [see Mercer's Alms Houses and Whittington College]


"[This church is] one of the 13 peculiars within the city, belonging to the Archbishop of that see. The ancient church, college and alms houses, were all consumed by the great fire of 1666, and the present edifice erected in its stead, by Sir Christopher Wren in 1694.  It was made parochial for this parish and for that of St. Martin's Vintry, the church of which was also destroyed by the same fire and the two parishes united by an act of parliament [see St. Martin Vintry].

"The spacious and well proportioned church is a fine piece of construction and well wrought masonry...  The interior is a large capacious all...; is 86 feet long, 48 broad, and 40 high, and lighted by a series of lofty semicircular edit windows.  These united parishes form one rectory, in the city of London, in the province of Canterbury, and as one of the 13 peculiars of that see, within the city, is exempt from archidiaconal jurisdiction.  They are under the patronage of the Archbishop of Canterbury for St. Michael Royal and of the Bishop of Worcester...  For St. Martin Vintry."[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Martin Vintry Parish united with St Michael Paternoster Royal Parish.[2]

1848 parish description
St. Michael Pater-noster Royal with St. Martin Vintry, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury, and the Bishop of Worcester, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

These parishes were part of Vintry Ward. St Michael Royal also belonged to Dowgate Ward. It was also known as St Michael Paternoster Parish, as well as St Michael Paternoster Royal Parish.

St Martin Vintry Parish Church has been demolished.

Resources

Church records

St Martin Vintry Parish

Online St Martin Vintry Parish Register Images and Indexes
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1617
1617
1617
Images
1617-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1906 Ancestry[5] 1813-1836 Ancestry[6] 1813-1849
1920
Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1617-1874 FamilySearch[8] 1617-1725 FindMyPast[9] 1539-1812 FindMyPast[10]
1617-1649
1675-1710
1813-1836

FamilySearch[11]

1754-1850 FindMyPast[12]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[13] 1800-1850 BritishOrigins[14]

St Michael Royal Parish

Online St Michael Royal Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1558
1558
Images
1558-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1906 Ancestry[5] 1754-1921 Ancestry[6] 1813-1850 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1558-1742 Ancestry[15] 1559-1837 FindMyPast[9] 1563-1811 FindMyPast[10]
1743-1837 FamilySearch[16] 1559-1812 Ancestry[15] 1754-1850 FindMyPast[12]
    1743-1754
1813-1885

FamilySearch[17]

1813-1850 BritishOrigins[14]
    1776-1800 BritishOrigins[18]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[13]    

Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1850.[19]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

1547 Subsidy

St Clement Eastcheap.png
  • St Martin, Vintry, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/157); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael Paternoster Royal, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/157); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Martin, Vintry, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/504); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Michael Paternoster Royal, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/504); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Martin, Vintry, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/543); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Michael Paternoster Royal, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/543); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • St Martin Vintry, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 8); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Michael Paternoster Royal, Vintry Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/587); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Martin Vintry Parish are available online.

Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (St Martin Vintry Parish) and the Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, Shoreham (St Michael Royal Parish). From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry for both places.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Michael Paternoster churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Michael Royal with St Martin Vintry tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[20]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Martin Vintry churchyard.[21]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Michael Paternoster Royal churchyard.[21]

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Martin Vintry Parish the unique surname Vintry.[22]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Michael Paternoster Royal
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Martin Vintry

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. 4.0 4.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin Vintry in the City of London | St Michael Paternoster Royal in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin Vintry in the City of London | St Michael Paternoster Royal in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin Vintry in the City of London | St Michael Paternoster Royal in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin Vintry in the City of London | St Michael Paternoster Royal in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. Batches C022451-C022452, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  9. 9.0 9.1 "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  10. 10.0 10.1 "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  11. Batches M022451-M022452, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. 12.0 12.1 John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  13. 13.0 13.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  14. 14.0 14.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  15. 15.0 15.1 Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Intellectual Reserve, copyright 2002. Used by permission.
  16. Batches C022641, C022643, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  17. Batch M022641, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  18. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  19. Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  20. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  21. 21.0 21.1 Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  22. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 20:48.
  • This page has been accessed 4,119 times.