St Michael Wood Street with St Mary StainingEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining

London St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for St Mary Staining beginning 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1639-40; 1800; Separate records exist for St Mary Staining beginning 1629-31; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division) Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stmichaelwoodstreetsite.JPG
Stmarystainingsite.JPG
"St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining, the church of, is situated on the west side of Wood Street, Cheapside. The original church is of some antiquity, [as early as]...1328. The old church was destoryed by the common conflagration of 1666, and the present church was erected a few years after from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. The neighbouring church of St Mary Staining was also destroyed at the same time, and the parish was united to this act of parliament. The patronage of this rectory was anciently in the abbot and convent of St Albans, till the suppression of the religious houses by Henry VIII, who sold it to WIlliam Barwell, who in 1558 conveyed it to the trustees for the parishioners, in which it still remains. After the fire of London, the adjacent parish of St Mary Staining was united to it by act of parliament; the patronage of which devolving to the crown after the Reformation, it is now in the gift of the Lord Chancellor, and the united rectory is presented to alternately by his Lordship and the parishioners. The united parishes are now a rectory in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in before mentioned patronage."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Mary Staining Parish united with St Michael Wood Street Parish.[2]


1848 parish description
St. Michael, Wood-street with St. Mary Staining are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Parishioners, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Part of Aldersgate Ward.


Both churches have been demolished.

Resources

Church records

St Mary Staining Parish

Online St Mary Staining Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1630
1629
1630
Images
1630-1631,[4] 1673-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1813-1820 Ancestry[6] 1813-1820 Ancestry[7] 1813-1820 Ancestry[8]
Indexes 1673-1812 FamilySearch[9] 1629-1630[4] FindMyPast[10] 1813-1820 FindMyPast[11]
    1629-1631[4] BritishOrigins[12] 1813-1820 BritishOrigins[13]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[14]    

St Michael Wood Street Parish

Online St Michael Wood Street Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1559
1559
1559
Images
1559-1662, 1678-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
    1754-1815 Ancestry[7]    
Indexes 1559-1662
1801-1811
FamilySearch[15] 1559-1837 FindMyPast[10] 1813-1820 FindMyPast[11]
    1559-1661
1754-1837
BritishOrigins[12] 1813-1820 BritishOrigins[13]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[14]    
    1801-1811

FamilySearch[16]

   

"Christenings 1663-c1895, Marriages 1674-1754, 1813-1895, Burials 1813-c1853 destroyed by enemy action, 1940, but see coverage of marriages in Boyd and Pallot indexes." Bishop's transcripts for eighteenth-century christenings have also been lost.[17]

Boundary

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Can you help?

Census records

Stmichaelwoodstreet.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Mary Staining, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/137); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael, Wood Street, Cripplegate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/142); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

FamilySearch Books Online

1625 Subsidy

  • St Mary Staining, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/510); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • St Michael, Wood Street, Cripplegate Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 5); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1667 Hearth Tax

  • St Mary Staining, Aldersgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Michael, Wood Street, Cripplegate Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/630); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.

Before 1858, St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. St Mary Staining also fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Mary Staining residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[18] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

Londonstmarystainingcemetery.jpg

Transcripts of early St Michael Wood Street with St Mary Staining tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[19]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Mary Staining churchyard.[20]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Michael Wood Street
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Staining

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Internet Archive.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 1629, 1630, and 1631 are bishops transcripts.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Staining in the City of London | St Michael, Wood Street in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Staining in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Staining in the City of London | St Michael Wood Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Staining in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  9. Batch C022471, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  10. 10.0 10.1 "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  11. 11.0 11.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. 12.0 12.1 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  13. 13.0 13.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  14. 14.0 14.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  15. Batches C021051-C021052, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  16. Batch M002152, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011..
  17. Cliff Webb, London and Middlesex (London: Society of Genealogists Ltd., 1995), 30. FHL Book 942 D27ste v. 9 pt. 5
  18. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  19. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  20. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,128 times.