St Michael on Wyre, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to St Michael on Wyre, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a List of Chapelries in the Parish of St Michael on Wyre

St Michael on Wyre, Lancashire
St. Michael's on Wyre Lancashire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Fylde; Preston PLU
Registration District Fylde; Garstang; Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1677
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Michael on Wyre is an Ancient Parish in the county of Lancashire.

Other places in the parish include: Car House Green Common, Carhouse Green Common, Great Eccleston, Catforth, Eaves, Upper Rawcliffe with Tranacre, Tarnacre, Tarnicar, Upper Rawcliffe, Upper Rawcliffe with Tarnacre, and Sowerby

The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

The parish church of St Michael is the village's most prominent landmark. The nave and chancel date from the 14th century, and the tower from the 16th.

MICHAEL, ST., ON WYRE, a parish, in the union of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire, 3¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from Garstang;including the chapelry of Plumpton-Wood, and the townships of Great Eccleston, Elswick, Inskip with Sowerby, Out Rawcliffe, and Upper Rawcliffe with Tarnacre. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents,Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. Two very popular index sites are:

Church records

Online Records

St Michael On Wyre's parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries  within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are accessible online at the web sites indicated below and the following ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
IARC = Internet Archive
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
UKGA = UK-genealogy.org.uk
ST MICHAEL ON WYRE PARISH (1659) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1662-1844 1662-1741; 1754-1901  None
LOPC 1662-1947 1662-1900 1662-1948 
FMP  None 1662-1837 None
LBMD None 1837-2006 None
IARC 1659-1707 1659-1707 1659-1707
COPP (or GREAT ECCLESTON) ST ANN Chapelry (1728) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1782, 1813-1874 None 1871-1875
LOPC 1728-1812 1737 None
LBMD None 1850-1993 None
INSKIP ST PETER Chapelry (1848) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1848-1900 1850-1900 None
LOPC 1848-1900 1850-1900 1849-1900
LBMD None 1850-1992 None
OUT RAWCLIFFE ST JOHN Chapelry (1838) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1838-1845 1841-1900 1841-1845
LOPC None 1841-1900 None 
LBMD None 1841-2000 None
WOOD PLUMPTON ST ANN Chapelry (1604) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1604-1883 1604-1900 None
LOPC 1604-1879 1604-1900 1604-1900
LBMD None 1837-2000 None
AC 1659-1784 1659-1784 1659-1784
FMP None 1604-1837 None
UKGA 1604-1659 1604-1659 1604-1659
FREG 1604-1659 1604-1658 1604-1659

Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306886.


Poor Law Unions

Fylde Poor Law Union, Lancashire Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 18 November 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:15.
  • This page has been accessed 5,040 times.