St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret MosesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses

London St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses
Londonstmildredbreadstreet.jpg
St Mildred Bread Street
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754; Separate registers exist for St Margaret Moses beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-31; 1639-40; 1800; Separate records exist for St Margaret Moses beginning 1665-66; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division) and Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Margaret Moses church site

St Margaret Moses Timeline

  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London
  • 1666 - church never rebuilt; united with St Mildred Bread Street Parish[1]

St Mildred Bread Street Timeline

  • ~1300 - first mentioned
  • 1666 - church destroyed by Great Fire of London
  • 1666 - united with St Margaret Moses Parish[1]
  • 1677-1683 - church rebuilt
  • 1941 - church bombed; demolished

1831 description

"St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses, the church of, stands on the east side of Bread Street and is so called from its situation from being dedicated to Mildred, a saint, daughter of Merwaldus, and to Penda, King of Mercians, who consecrated abbess of a monastery in the Isle of Thanet... It is a rectory, founded and built by Lord Trenchant, of St Alban's, about the year 1300, and enlarged in 1428,... [with a] vestry room, and church yard, to the parishioners, and a parsonage house to the rector. The old church was burned down in 1666, and rebuilt in 1683, by Sir Christopher Wren. The advowson of this church was anciently in the Prior and Canons of St Mary Overy, but it afterwards came into the family of Sir Nicholas Crispe and is now in private hands. After the fire of London, the parish of St Margaret  Moses (see that church), was united to it by act of parliament; which church, after many changes from 1105,...till the suppression of that convent, by Edward III, as an  alien Priory, fell to the crown, in whose patronage it has continued to this day.

"These united parishes are a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London..."[2]

1848 parish description


St. Mildred, Bread-street, with St. Margaret Moses, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Queen, and W. Storketh, Esq., alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

Additional jurisdictions

St Mildred Bread Street and St Margaret Moses parishes were part of Bread Street Ward. St Margaret Moses Parish was also known as St Margaret Moses Friday Street Parish.

Resources

Church records

St Mildred Bread Street and St Margaret Moses were originally two parishes. Each maintained separate parish registers.

St Margaret Moses Parish

Online St Margaret Moses Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1558-1842 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1814-1842 Ancestry[5] 1813-1839 Ancestry[6] 1813-1850 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1559-1836 FamilySearch[8] 1558-1666
1813-1839
FamilySearch[9] 1539-1850 FindMyPast[10]
 1559-1836 InternetArchive[11]  1558-1839 FindMyPast[12] 1558-1850 InternetArchive[11]
1559-1836 FreeReg[13] 1558-1839 FreeReg[13] 1558-1850 FreeReg[13]
    1558-1836 InternetArchive[11] 1558-1850 TheGenealogist[14]
    1558-1832 TheGenealogist[14] 1754-1850 FindMyPast[15]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[16] 1813-1850 BritishOrigins[17]

St Mildred Bread Street Parish

Online St Mildred Bread Street Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1629
1629
1629
Images
1629-1631, 1639-1640,[18] 1800-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1842 Ancestry[5] 1754-1833 Ancestry[6] 1813-1853 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1658-1837 FamilySearch[19] 1670-1837 FamilySearch[20] 1587-1853 FindMyPast[10]
1658-1837 InternetArchive[11]  1629-1837 FindMyPast[12] 1629-1853 BritishOrigins[17]
1658-1837 FreeReg[13] 1670-1837 FreeReg[13] 1670-1853 InternetArchive[11]
1838-1840 BritishOrigins[21] 1670-1837 InternetArchive[11] 1670-1853 FreeReg[13]
    1672-1836 TheGenealogist[14] 1670-1853 TheGenealogist[14]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[16] 1754-1853 FindMyPast[15]

Boundary

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Can you help?

Census records

St James Garlickhithe.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Margaret Moses, Friday Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

FamilySearch Books Online

1621 Subsidy

  • St Margaret Moses, Friday Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645-1646 Subsidy

  • St Mildred, Bread Street, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 2); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.

Before 1858, St Mildred Bread Street Parish fell under the jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of London. St Margaret Moses Parish fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Margaret Moses residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[22] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

In 1898 many bodies were disinterred from St Mildred Bread Street Churchyard and removed to Brookwood Cemetery.[23]

Transcripts of early St Mildred Bread Street with St Margaret Moses tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[24]

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mildred, Bread Street
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Margaret Moses

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and Its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. 4.0 4.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Margaret Moses in the City of London | St Mildred Bread Street in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1853, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  8. Batch P020551, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  9. Batch M020551, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts (1558-1836) and parish registers (1837-1839).
  10. 10.0 10.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' accessed 8 June 2011. Described as St Margaret Moses. Indexes adult male burials.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 11.5 W. Bruce Bannerman, The Registers of St. Mildred, Bread Street, and of St. Margaret Moses, Friday Street, London (London, 1912). Digital version at Internet Archive. The index to St. Mildred Bread Street Parish Registers begins on image 113. St. Margaret Moses, Friday Street, London Parish Register images begin on image 141. The index to St. Margaret Moses Parish Registers begins on page 106 (the 2nd 106).
  12. 12.0 12.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  13. 13.0 13.1 13.2 13.3 13.4 13.5 Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
  14. 14.0 14.1 14.2 14.3 "London Parish Record Transcripts," The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  15. 15.0 15.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Described as St Margaret Moses, Friday St
  16. 16.0 16.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  17. 17.0 17.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  18. 1629-1631 and 1639-1640 are bishops transcripts.
  19. Batch P020561, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  20. Batch M020551, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  21. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  22. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  23. J.M. Clark, The Brookwood Necropolis Railway (2006); Wikipedia Contributors, "St Mildred, Bread Street," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Mildred,_Bread_Street, accessed 18 January 2012.
  24. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 4,006 times.