St Mildred Poultry with St Mary ColechurchEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Mildred Poultry with St Mary Colechurch

London St Mildred Poultry with St Mary Colechurch family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mildred Poultry with St Mary Colechurch
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers for St Mary Colechurch beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Mary Colechurch beginning 1629-31; 1665-66; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division) and Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stmildredpoultrysite.JPG
Stmarycolechurchsite.JPG
"St Mildred Poultry with St Mary Colechurch, the church of... Stands at the corner of St. Mildred's Court, on the north side of the Poultry, nearly opposite Walbrook.  It is of ancient foundation, for John de Aswell collated to it in 1325.  The ancient church was burned down in 1666, and the present substantial edifice erected in its stead, by Sir Christopher Wren, in 1676, and the parish of St. Mary Cole, or Colechurch, was united to it by act of Parliament. This church is in the patronage of the Mercer's company, and that of St Mildred since the dissolution of the monasteries by Henry VIII, to the crown. The united parishes are a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the before mentioned alternate patronage."[1]


After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Mary Colechurch Parish united with St Mildred Poultry Parish.[2]

1848 parish description
St Mildred, Poultry, with St. Mary Colechurch are parishes, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Mercers’ Company, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

St Mildred Poultry belonged to Cheap Ward. Also known as St Mildred the Virgin, the church was demolished in 1872.

St Mary Colechurch Parish Church has also been demolished.

Published histories:

  • Milbourn, Thomas. The History of the Church of St. Mildred the Virgin, Poultry, in the City of London. With Some Particulars of the Church of St. Mary Colechurch, (Destroyed in the Great Fire, A.D. 1666). London: J.R. Smith, 1872. Digital version at Google Books.

Resources

Church records

St Mary Colechurch Parish

Online St Mary Colechurch Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1558-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
Indexes 1538-1872 FamilySearch[5] 1538-1837

FamilySearch[6]

1813-1852 FindMyPast[7]
1559-1683 FindMyPast[8] 1813-1852 BritishOrigins[9]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[10]    

St Mildred Poultry Parish

Online St Mildred Poultry Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1538-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1870 Ancestry[11] 1754-1879 Ancestry[12] 1813-1852 Ancestry[13]
Indexes 1538-1870 FamilySearch[14] 1538-1837 FindMyPast[8] 1813-1852 FindMyPast[7]
    1538-1837

FamilySearch[15]

1813-1852 BritishOrigins[9]
    1754-1837 BritishOrigins[16]    
    1800-1837 Ancestry[10]    

Census records

Stmildredpoultry.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Mildred, Poultry, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/144); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Mildred, Poultry, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Mildred, Poultry, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/217); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Mildred, Poultry, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/489); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1628 Subsidy

  • St Mildred Poultry, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/556); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1641 Subsidy

  • St Mary Colechurch, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/572); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1645 Subsidy

  • St Mary Colechurch, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 6); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1666 Destroyed Houses

1678 Poll Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1692 Poll Tax

1692-1693 Poll Tax

1694 Poll Tax

1695 Inhabitants Lists

1695 Marriage Duty Act Tax

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.

Before 1858, St Mildred Poultry fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. St Mary Colechurch fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Mary Colechurch residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[17] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

Transcripts of early St Mildred Poultry with St Mary Colechurch tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[18]

Records of the Poor

The School of Advanced Study, University of London has uploaded abstracts of the following records, which are available for free online:

  • St Mary Colechurch Assessments 1558 to 1665
  • St Mary Colechurch Churchwarden Accounts 1622 to 1769
  • St Mary Colechurch Parish Officers 1613 to 1634
  • St Mary Colechurch Pew Lists 1613 to 1661
  • St Mary Colechurch Vestry Minutes 1638 to 1672

Maps

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mildred, Poultry
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary Colechurch

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013.
  4. 4.0 4.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary Colechurch in the City of London | St Mildred, Poultry in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. Batches P000801-P000802, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  6. Batch M058401-M058402, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  7. 7.0 7.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  8. 8.0 8.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  9. 9.0 9.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  10. 10.0 10.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  11. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mildred Poultry in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  12. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mildred Poultry in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  13. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mildred Poultry in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  14. Batches C058401-C058402, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  15. Batches M058401-M058402, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  16. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  17. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  18. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 21:25.
  • This page has been accessed 4,742 times.