St Neots, HuntingdonshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
|St Neots, Huntingdonshire|
|Poor Law Union||St Neots PLU|
|Registration District||St Neots|
|Parish registers: 1688|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1604|
|Rural Deanery||St Neots|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon|
|Location of Archive|
|Huntingdonshire Record Office|
Guide to St Neots, Huntingdonshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St. Neots, is a town, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Huntingdonshire, ¾ of a mile W of the Great Northern railway, and 8½ miles SSW of Huntingdon. There are places of worship for Independents, Baptists, and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
St Neots, Huntingdonshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (FindMyPast) - (£)|
|St Neots, Huntingdonshire Parish Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288839.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
St Neots on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:53.
- This page has been accessed 937 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki