St Nicholas, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to St Nicholas, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Nicholas, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wonford
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot PLU
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1616
Bishop's Transcripts: 1633
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ipplepen
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1848 - Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter; Post-1847 - Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

NICHOLAS, ST., a parish, in the union of NewtonAbbott, hundred of Wonford, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon, 5½ miles (E. by S.) from NewtonAbbot. This parish is bounded on the east by the Teign, and lies opposite to Teignmouth, with which it communicates by a bridge over the river; it comprises the pleasant village of Shaldon, and the greater part of the hamlet of Ringmore.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241329.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 415-416. Date accessed: 3 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2014, at 16:02.
  • This page has been accessed 437 times.