St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas OlaveEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave

London St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave
Londonstnicholascoleabbey.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for St Nicholas Olave beginning 1704
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639-40; 1665-66; 1800; Separate records exist for St Nicholas Olave beginning 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

"St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave, the church of, is situated on the south side of Old Fish Street, Doctors' Commons...  There was a church on the same site prior to 1377...when it was rebuilt. The church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and the present church built by Sir Christopher Wren.  It was finished in 1677, and is the first church built and completed after the fire.  The church is a rectory, the advowson of which was anciently in the dean and chapter of St. Martin Le Grand; but on grant of that collegiate church to the abbot and canons of Westminster, the patronage devolved to that convent, in whom it continued till the dissolution of their monastery, when it devolved to the crown, in which patronage it is present.  After the great fire, the parish of St. Nicholas Olaves [see that church] was united to this, which is a rectory of very ancient foundation.. the united rectory is in the city, diocese and Archdeaconry of London, and the advowson is, from the before named Union of parishes, in the alternate gifts of Lord Chancellor, for the crown and again and chapter of St. Paul's."[1]

After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Nicholas Cole Abbey Parish united with St Nicholas Olave Parish.[2]


1848 parish description

St. Nicholas Cole Abbey with St. Nicholas Olave, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Crown, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, alternately. They are within the Poor-law union of the City of London.[3]

These parishes were part of Queenhithe Ward.

Resources

Church records

St Nicholas Cole Abbey Parish

Online St Nicholas Cole Abbey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1538-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1906 Ancestry[5] 1755-1921 Ancestry[6] 1813-1851 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1538-1875 FamilySearch[8] 1584-1885 FamilySearch[9] 1538-1812 FindMyPast[10]
    1584-1873 FindMyPast[11] 1754-1851 FindMyPast[12]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[13] 1813-1851 BritishOrigins[14]
    1813-1837 BritishOrigins[15]    

St Nicholas Olave Parish

Online St Nicholas Olave Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1704
1705
1704
Images
1704-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1904 Ancestry[5] 1813-1836 Ancestry[6] 1813-1852 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1704-1860 FamilySearch[16] 1705-1720
1813-1836
FamilySearch[17] 1754-1852 FindMyPast[12]
    1705-1836 FindMyPast[11] 1813-1852 BritishOrigins[14]
    1705-1720
1813-1837
BritishOrigins[15]    
    1800-1837 Ancestry[13]    

Census records

St Benet Pauls Wharf.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/140); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Nicholas Olave, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/152); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/483); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Nicholas Olave, Queenhithe Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/526); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1645-1646 Subsidy

  • St Nicholas Cole Abbey, Bread Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 2); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Civil Registration

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.

Before 1858, St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

Transcripts of early St Nicholas Cole Abbey with St Nicholas Olave tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[18]

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Nicholas Olave
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Nicholas Cole Abbey

References

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  4. 4.0 4.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Nicholas Cole Abbey in the City of London | St Nicholas Olave in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Nicholas Cole Abbey in the City of London | St Nicholas Olave in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Nicholas Cole Abbey in the City of London | St Nicholas Olave in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Nicholas Cole Abbey in the City of London | St Nicholas Olave in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. Batches C022631-C022632, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish register xxx.
  9. Batch M022631-M022632, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  10. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  11. 11.0 11.1 "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  12. 12.0 12.1 John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  13. 13.0 13.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  14. 14.0 14.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  15. 15.0 15.1 "Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches," British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  16. Batches C022671-C022672, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish register xxx.
  17. Batch M022671-M022672, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  18. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 21:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,525 times.