St Nicholas Hospital, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to St Nicholas Hospital, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


St Nicholas Hospital, Kent
Harbledown St Nicholas Kent.jpg
Harbledown St Nicholas Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Deptford Town
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge PLU
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

At Harbledown the extra parochial area of St Nicholas Hospital grew from the foundation of the ancient St Nicholas Hospital. This was founded as a leper hospital to the west of Canterbury about 1084 by Archbishop Lanfranc. When leprosy disappeared from England the Hospital site was developed as alms housing.

See Victoria County History A History of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1926), pp. 219-220 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

The Land Tax records make no reference to this part of Harbledown but refer to the parish Harbledown, Kent and Borough of Harbledown; see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records)

See also kent Resources website and Historic Canterbury website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Family History Library film number Family History Library BRITISH Film 1786506 Item 5

Bishop's Transcripts 1814-1892

Canterbury Cathedral Archives, The Precinct,Canterbury, Kent. Canterbury Cathedral Archives reference: DCb/BT2/135
Baptisms, 1841, 1847, 1849, 1892; Burials, 1814, 1816, 1818-1821, 1823, 1827-1828, 1830, 1832-1836, 1840-1841, 1843-1844, 1846, 1848, 1883-1891.

The records contain only baptisms and burials for the brothers and sisters of the hospital; there is no evidence of marraige and the chapel appears not to have been licensed ecclesiastically for this.

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records) for St Nicholas Hospital Bishop's Transcripts.

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Census records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:34.
  • This page has been accessed 973 times.