St Olave Hart StreetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Olave Hart Street

London St Olave Hart Street ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Olave Hart Street
St Olave Hart Street
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1665-66; 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Timeline

  • 1200s - first mentioned
  • ~1450 - present church building built
  • 1941 - church bombed during London Blitz
  • 1954 - church restored

1831 description

"St Olave Hart Street, the church of, is situated on the south side of Hart Street, Crutched Friars and derives its name and addition from being dedicated to St Olave or Olaus, King of Norway, who, from his strong attachment to the christian religion, took part with the Christian English, against the pagan Danes. A church stood on this site, dedicated to the same patron, before the year 1319, The present church."[1]

1848 description

St. Olave Hart-street, withSt. Martin, Ironmonger-lane, are pare parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Parishioners. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Additional jurisdictions

St Olave Hart Street Parish was part of Tower Ward and Aldgate Ward.

Published histories

A history was published in 1894:

  • Povah, Alfred. The Annals of the Parishes of St. Olave, Hart Street, and Allhallows Staining, in the City of London. Blades East & Blades, 1894. Digitized by Internet Archive.

Resources

Church records

Online St Olave Hart Street Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1563
1563
1563
Images
1563-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1964 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1563-1865 FamilySearch[7] 1563-1876 FamilySearch[8] 1563-1852 findmypast[9]
1563-1700 InternetArchive[10] 1563-1754 findmypast[11] 1563-1700 TheGenealogist[12]
1563-1700 TheGenealogist[12] 1563-1700 InternetArchive[10] 1563-1700 InternetArchive[10]
1563-1700 FreeReg[13] 1563-1700 FreeReg[13] 1563-1700 FreeReg[13]
    1563-1700 TheGenealogist[12] 1813-1853 findmypast[14]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[15]    

Census

1541 Subsidy

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

FamilySearch Books Online

1621 Subsidy

  • St Olave, Hart Street, Tower Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/501); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
All Hallows Barking.png

1625 Subsidy

  • St Olave, Hart Street, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/549); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1645 Subsidy

  • St Olave Hart Street, Aldgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/616); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes


1695 Inhabitants Lists

(see supplements). 

Civil Registration

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Olave Hart Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[16] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

Londonstolavehartstreetcemetery.jpg

Transcripts of early St Olave Hart Street tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[17]

A survey of monumental brasses, published 1891, is available online.[18]

A cemetery survey, published in 1894, is available online.[19]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Olave Hart Street churchyard.[20]

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Olave Hart Street

References

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Olave, Hart Street in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Olave Hart Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Olave Hart Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Olave Hart Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches P001591, C001592-C001593, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish register xxx.
  8. Batches M001591 (inactive 21/02/2012)-M001592, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts (1563-1700) and parish registers (1701-1876).
  9. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 W. Bruce Bannerman, The Registers of St. Olave, Hart Street, London, 1563-1700 (1916).
  11. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 "London Parish Record Transcripts," The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  13. 13.0 13.1 13.2 Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
  14. John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  15. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  16. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  17. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  18. Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.
  19. Alfred Povah, The Annals of the Parishes of St. Olave, Hart Street, and Allhallows Staining, in the City of London (Blades East and Blades, 1894). Digitized by Internet Archive.
  20. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:29.
  • This page has been accessed 4,618 times.