St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin PomeroyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
London
London Parishes
St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy
London St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers (baptisms, christenings, marriages, and burials), civil registration (births, marriages, and deaths), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and website resources.
Church records
St Martin Pomeroy Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1885 | Ancestry[2] | 1813-1843 | Ancestry[3] | ||||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1539-1860 | FamilySearch[4] | 1539-1647 | FindMyPast[5] | 1813-1847 | FindMyPast[6] | |||||||||||||
| 1539-1647 | 1813-1847 | BritishOrigins[8] | |||||||||||||||||
| 1800-1837 | Ancestry[9] | ||||||||||||||||||
St Olave Old Jewry Parish
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | | ||||||||||||||||||
| 1813-1884 | Ancestry[2] | 1754-1886 | Ancestry[10] | 1813-1843 | Ancestry[3] | ||||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1538-1748 | FamilySearch[11] | 1538-1837 | FindMyPast[5] | 1538-1812 | FindMyPast[12] | |||||||||||||
| 1538-1875 | 1813-1850 | FindMyPast[6] | |||||||||||||||||
| 1754-1837 | BritishOrigins[14] | 1813-1850 | BritishOrigins[8] | ||||||||||||||||
| 1800-1837 | Ancestry[9] | ||||||||||||||||||
Census and Inhabitants Lists
1541 Subsidy
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Cheap Ward - Saynt Martyns Paryshe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1541 London Subsidy Roll, Coleman Street Ward - Sainct Olus Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
1547 Subsidy
- St Martin Pomeroy, Cheap Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
- St Olave, Old Jewry, Coleman Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1582 Subsidy
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Cheap Ward - St Martynes Parishe, courtesy: British History Online
- 1582 London Subsidy Roll, Coleman Street Ward - St Olaves Paroche, courtesy: British History Online
1625 Subsidy
- St Olave, Old Jewry, Coleman Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/513); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
1638 Inhabitants List
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Martin, Iremonger Lane, courtesy: British History Online
- Inhabitants of London in 1638 - St Olaves, Old Jewry, courtesy: British History Online
1666 Hearth Tax
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Martin Ironmonger Lane, courtesy: British History Online
- Hearth Tax: City of London 1666 - St Olave Old Jewry, courtesy: British History Online
1666 Destroyed Houses
- Cheape Ward 1666, names of persons whose houses were destroyed by the fire of London 1666 (Includes St Martin Ironmonger Lane), courtesy: School of Advanced Study, University of London - free. (Filename Destroyed_Houses_Cheap_And_Cordwainer_1666.xls)
1678 Poll Tax
- 1678 Poll Tax of St Martin Ironmonger Lane, courtesy: School of Advanced Study, University of London - free.
1692 Poll Tax
- 1692 Poll Tax of St Martin Ironmonger Lane, courtesy: School of Advanced Study, University of London - free.
1692-1693 Poll Tax
- 1692-1693 Poll Tax of St Martin Ironmonger Lane, courtesy: School of Advanced Study, University of London - free.
1692-1932 Land Taxes
1694 Poll Tax
- 1694 Poll Tax of St Martin Ironmonger Lane, courtesy: School of Advanced Study, University of London - free.
1695 Inhabitants Lists
1695 Marriage Duty Tax
Civil Registration
Probate records
Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.
Before 1858, St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.
Cemetery
Transcripts of early St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[15]
A cemetery survey, published in 1887, is available online.[16]
Records of the Poor
Parish History
"St Olave Old Jewry with St Martin Pomeroy, the church of, stands on the west side of Old Jewry, is of very ancient foundation, and was originally called St Olave Upwell, from its patron saint, and the well at the east... It was afterwards called Jewry, from its vicinity tbe coming the alotted residence of the Jews in London. The parish is ancient, and was a rectory, in the gift of the Dean and Chapter of St Pauls, till about the year 1181, when it was transferred by them, with the chapel of St Stephen Coleman Street, to the prior and convent of Butley, in Suffolk, when it became a vicarage. At the suppression of the monasteries, the impropriation was forfeited to the crown, in whom it has continued till the present time. After the fire of London the parish of St Martin Pomery, in Ironmonger Lane, was united to this parish, which being a rectory, also in the patronage of the crown, the presentation the united livings in the king--[see St Martin Pomery]."[17]
After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Martin Pomeroy Parish united with St Olave Old Jewry Parish.[18]
St Martin Pomeroy was also known as St Martin Pomary Ironmonger Lane.[18]
Web sites
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Olave Old Jewry Parish records)
- London Family History Centre Catalogue (St Martin Pomeroy Parish records)
- Sketch of St Olave Old Jewry Parish Church (1830), courtesy: London Ancestor
- Society of Genealogists Library Catalogue (to narrow results, conduct a subject search for 'London St Martin Pomeroy' or 'London St Olave Old Jewry')
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin Pomeroy in the City of London | St Olave Old Jewry in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin Pomeroy in the City of London | St Olave Old Jewry in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin Pomeroy in the City of London | St Olave Old Jewry in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batches C022651-C022652, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ Batch M022652, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
- ↑ 9.0 9.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- ↑ London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Olave Old Jewry in the City of London. Partially indexed.
- ↑ Batch C024052, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
- ↑ "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
- ↑ Batches M024051-M024052, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
- ↑ "Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches," British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
- ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ Frederick Arthur Crisp, Monumental Inscriptions in the Church of St. Olaves, Jewry, London (F.A. Crisp, 1887). Digitised by Internet Archive.
- ↑ James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
- ↑ 18.0 18.1 Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 October 2012, at 22:00.
- This page has been accessed 1,313 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

