St Pancras, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to St Pancras, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Pancras, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union St Pancras PLU
Registration District Pancras
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660; Separate registers exist for Camden Town beginning 1824 and also Kentish Town beginning 1804 and also Somers Town beginning 1829 and also Percy Chapel beginning 1747 and also Fitzroy Chapel beginning 1779 and also Regent Square beginning 1829
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PANCRAS, ST., a parish, in the Holborn division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, a suburb to London; A church was erected in Regent-square, by grant of the Parliamentary Commissioners, in 1824. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Calvinistic and other Methodists. There is a Scottish church, and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resource

Church records

St Pancras by the 19th century, was one of England's most populated parishes, with numerous chapels and district churches subdividing its boundary. Here is a viewable and printable Comprehensive List of St Pancras Churches in Pre-1900.

Online Records

Online St Pancras Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1660
1660
1660
Images
1660-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1749-1906 Ancestry[3] 1831-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1814
1829-1931
Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1660-1876 FamilySearch[6] 1660-1876 FamilySearch[7]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[8]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Original Records

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438797.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

A 1938 survey of wall monuments and floor slabs within the church is available online.[9]

St Pancras Old Church Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (52+ entries)

Manorial Records

Records survive for Tottenham Court Manor (1306-1873) in St Pancras Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

St Pancras on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 January 2014.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Pancras Old Church in Camden Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Pancras Old St Pancras in Camden Borough, St Pancras Old Church in Camden Borough, and St Pancras Parish Church in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Pancras Old St Pancras in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Pancras Old St Pancras in Camden Borough and St Pancras in Camden Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. Batches C045632, C047931, C047932, C047933, C047934, C047935, C047936, C047937, C047938, C047939, J045631, K045631, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  7. Batches M047931, M047932, M047933, M047934, M047935, M047936, M047937, M047938, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  9. 'St. Pancras Old Church', Survey of London: volume 19: The parish of St Pancras part 2: Old St Pancras and Kentish Town (1938), pp. 72-95. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=64866 Date accessed: 15 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 16:04.
  • This page has been accessed 9,597 times.