St Paul’s Cray, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngKent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to St Paul's Cray, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


St Paul’s Cray, Kent
Former St Paul's Cray St Paulinus Kent.jpg
Former St Paul's Cray St Paulinus Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ruxley
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bromley PLU
Registration District Bromley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1744
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dartford
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CRAY, ST. PAUL'S (St. Paulinus), a parish, in the union of Bromley, hundred of Ruxley, lathe of Sutton-at-hone, W. division of Kent, 1 mile (S.) from Foot's-Cray. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


St Paul's Cray is now a district in the London Borough of Bromley, formerly a village and civil parish see St Paul's Cray Wikipedia

St Paul's Cray St Paulinus was an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester.  The church was built in the thirteenth century in the hundred of Ruxley. See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 125-134 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

St Paul's Cray St Barnabas was formed from this parish and became the parish church when St Paulinus could not fulfil the needs of the developing parish.

The contraction of the London Docks lead to a movement to the area of a large traveller community from Bermondsey as well as the movement of the Irish descendants of traveller families.

The church was declared redundant by Order in Council 784 on 13 December 1995 and subsequently was acquired by the Redeemed Christian Church of God.

St Paul's Cray North West Kent Family History Society and St Paulinus St Paul's Cray

St Pauls's Cray St Barnabas was built in 1962 see Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Bromley Registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

St Paul’s Cray, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
St Paul’s Cray, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1881


FS BTs 1744-1754, 1801-1809, 1813-1825 1744-1754, 1801-1809, 1813-1825 1744-1754, 1801-1809, 1813-1825
FS PRs 1579-1881 1579-1837 1579-1879
IGI 1584-1875 1584-1837
KOPC
1862-1908

Deposited Parish registers are held at Bromley Archives reference P104 1580-1960

Bromley Central Library
Telephone: 020 8461 7170
Fax: 020 8466 7860
e-mail: localstudies.library@bromley.gov.uk

Land Tax

Images for Cray, St Paul are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831( March 2012) Suggested revision of waypoint made

These images are derived from 1987 microfilm at Kent Archives

Land tax assessments for St. Paul's Cray, 1780-1831 Family History Library BRITISH Film 1469937 Item 2


Census records

Census returns for St Paul's Cray 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Bromley Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within the London Borough of Bromley, located adjacent to Orpington Station and on major bus routes through the borough.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-720. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 November 2013.
  6. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 November 2014, at 02:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,778 times.