St Peter CornhillEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Peter Cornhill

St Peter Cornhill
Londonstpetercornhill.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

"St Peter Cornhill, the church of, is situated near the southeast corner of Cornhill, and is of very ancient foundation,...in 1208... The old church was destroyed by the fire of London, and the present substantial edifice erected in its stead by Sir Christopher Wren. This church is a rectory, the patronage of which was anciently in the family of the Nevils...After passing through several hands, it was conveyed in 1411 by Richard Whittington, and others, to the Lord Mayor and Commonalty of the city of London, in whom the advowson still continues. It is in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London..."[1]


1848 description

St. Peter, Cornhill is a parish, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Mayor, Aldermen, and Common Council. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Resources

Church Records

Online St Peter Cornhill Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1539
Images
1538-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1919 Ancestry[5] 1813-1853 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1538-1859 FamilySearch[7] 1538-1837 FamilySearch[8] 1539-1790 FindMyPast[9]
1538-1670 TheGenealogist[10] 1538-1837 FindMyPast[11] 1539-1673 TheGenealogist[10]
1538-1666 InternetArchive[12]  1538-1666 TheGenealogist[10] 1539-1666 InternetArchive[12]
1538-1774 FreeReg[13] 1538-1754 FreeReg[13] 1538-1563
1667-1774
FreeReg[13]
1667-1774 InternetArchive[12] 1538-1666 InternetArchive[12] 1667-1774 InternetArchive[12]
1667-1774 GoogleBooks[12] 1673-1754 GoogleBooks[12] 1667-1774 GoogleBooks[12]
    1673-1754 InternetArchive[12] 1813-1853 FindMyPast[14]
1754-1837 BritishOrigins[15] 1813-1853 BritishOrigins[16]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[17]

Census

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Peter, Cornhill, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/139); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

St Michael Cornhill.png
  • St Peter, Cornhill, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/485); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidies

  • St Peter, Cornhill, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/511); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Peter, Cornhill, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/516); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Peter, Cornhill, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/545); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
St Peter Cornhill spire

1638 Inhabitants List

1641 Subsidy

  • St Peter, Cornhill, Cornhill Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/568); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1646 Subsidy

  • St Peter, Cornhill, Bishopsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/597); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

1811 Census

The 1811 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[18]

1821 Census

The 1821 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[18]

Civil Registration

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Before 1858, St Peter Cornhill fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[19] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Peter Cornhill churchyard

Transcripts of early St Peter Cornhill tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[20]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Peter Cornhill churchyard.[21]

Find A Grave has created a page on St Peter upon Cornhill Churchyard (20+ entries).

Maps and Gazetteers

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Peter upon Cornhill

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Peter Upon Cornhill in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Peter Cornhill in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Peter Cornhill in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Peter Cornhill in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C001562, P001561, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  8. Batch M001561 (inactive 21/02/2012), see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts (1538-1754) and parish registers (1754-1837).
  9. "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 "London Parish Record Transcripts," The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  11. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 12.3 12.4 12.5 12.6 12.7 12.8 W.G. Leveson Gower. A Register of All the Christninges Burialles and Weddinges within the Parish of Saint Peeters upon Cornhill, Beginning at the Raigne of Our Most Soueraigne Ladie Queen Elizabeth 2 vols. (London, 1877-1879).
  13. 13.0 13.1 13.2 Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
  14. John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  15. "Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches," British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  16. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  17. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  18. 18.0 18.1 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 68, 71.
  19. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  20. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  21. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 8,627 times.