St Peter le Poer with St Benet FinkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Peter le Poer with St Benet Fink

London St Peter le Poer with St Benet Fink family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Peter le Poer with St Benet Fink
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish records: 1561; Separate registers exist for St Benet Fink beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1809; Separate records exist for St Benet Fink beginning 1639-40; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

'St Peter le Poer with St Benet Fink,the church of, is situated on the western side of the Old Broad Street, nearly opposite the south corner of the Excise Office. This church is of ancient origin, as appears from a register of it as far back as 1181. It is dedicated to St Peter the Apostle, and was called le-poor,...from the poor and mean condition of its inhabitants in ancient times. The advowson of this church appears to have been from the earliest times, in the patronage of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's, with whom it still continues. It is a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London.'[1]

These parishes belonged to Broad Street Ward.

St Benet Fink Parish was also known as St Benedict Parish.

The parish name was also spelled St Peter le Poor Parish.


1848 parish description:
St. Bene’t Fink (no church) is a parish of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Canons of Windsor, the appropriators. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.

and

St. Peter-le-Poor is a parish, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul’s. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Resources

Church records

St Benet Fink Parish
Online St Benet Fink Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1538-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1880 Ancestry[4] 1754-1845 Ancestry[5] 1813-1845 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1538-1880 FamilySearch[7] 1538-1836 FindMyPast[8] 1538-1940 FindMyPast[9]
    1538-1845

FamilySearch[10]

1813-1845 FindMyPast[11]
    1776-1800 BritishOrigins[12] 1813-1845 BritishOrigins[13]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[14]    
St Peter le Poer Parish
Online St Peter le Poer Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1561
1561
1561
Images
1561-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1905 Ancestry[4] 1754-1904 Ancestry[5] 1813-1853 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1561-1860 FamilySearch[15] 1561-1853 FindMyPast[8] 1561-1853 FindMyPast[9]
    1561-1722

FamilySearch[16]

1813-1853 FindMyPast[11]
    1776-1800 BritishOrigins[12]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[14]    

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census

1541 Subsidy

St Margaret Lothbury.png

1547 Subsidy

  • St Benet Fink, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/144); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Peter le Poer, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/144); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy

  • St Benet Fink, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/217); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Peter le Poer, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/217); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1621 Subsidy

  • St Benet Fink, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/489); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Peter le Poer, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/489); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1628 Subsidy

  • St Benet Fink, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/556); copy: FHL Film 2228703.
  • St Peter le Poer, Broad Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/556); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1638 Inhabitants List

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

1782-1859 List of Inhabitants

Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering these parishes are available online.

Before 1858, St Peter le Poer with St Benet Fink fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Benet Fink churchyard site
Transcripts of early St Peter le Poer with St Benet Fink tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[17]
Find A Grave has created a page on St Peter le Poer's Churchyard (4+ entries).

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Benet Fink
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Peter le Poer

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, ‘’A Topographical Dictionary of England’’ (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  3. 3.0 3.1 London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Benet Fink in the City of London | St Peter Le Poer in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. 4.0 4.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Benet Fink in the City of London | St Peter Le Poer and St Peter Le Poor in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Benet Fink in the City of London | St Peter Le Poer in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Benet Fink in the City of London | St Peter Le Poer in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C022291-C022292, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  8. 8.0 8.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  9. 9.0 9.1 'Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  10. Batch M022292, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  11. 11.0 11.1 John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. 12.0 12.1 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  13. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  14. 14.0 14.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  15. Batches C022761-C022762, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts.
  16. Batch M022762, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register xxx.
  17. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:00.
  • This page has been accessed 2,017 times.