St SepulchreEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Sepulchre

London St Sepulchre family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Sepulchre
Londonstsepulchre.jpg
London St Sepulchre
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Without the Walls; Ossulstone (Finsbury Division)
County London
Poor Law Union Holborn PLU
Registration District Holborn; West London
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Sepulchre
Authorities consider St Sepulchre Parish a part of the City of London as well as a part of Middlesex, even though it was not technically within the Walls of London.[1]


"St Sepulchre, the church of, is situated on Snow Hill, at the corner of Giltspur Street, and is so named in commemoration of the Holy Sepulchre at Jerusalem. This church is supposed to have been founded about 1100, at which time a particular devotion was paid to the Holy Sepulchre. It was decayed in the reign of Edward IV as to require rebuilding. In the reign of Henry I, it was given by the Bishop of Salisbury to the Prior and Canons of St Bartholomew, in Smithfield. At the dissolution of that ministry it came to the crown till it was granted by James I to Francis Phipps and others. After which the rectory,...was purchased by the parishioners, and the advowson of the vicarage, by the President and Fellows of St John's College, Oxford. The church was much damaged by the great fire of 1666, when it was repaired... It is a vicarage in the city, archdeaconry and diocese of London, and in the patronage of St John's College, Oxford."[2]

This parish belonged to Farringdon Without Ward.

Also known as St Sepulchre Newgate Parish.


1848 parish description
St. Sepulchre is a parish, in the City of London Without the Walls. The patron is St. John’s College, Oxford. -Impropriators of two thirds of the rectorial tithes; the Parishioners, the Vicarage being endowed with one-third. A part of St. Sepulchre is in the West London union.[3]

St Sepulchre-without-Newgate, also known as the Church of the Holy Sepulchre (Holborn), is an Anglican church in the City of London. It is located on Holborn Viaduct, almost opposite the Old Bailey. In medieval times it stood just outside ("without") the now-demolished old city wall, near the Newgate. It has been a living of St John's College, Oxford, since 1622.[4]

Resources

Church records

Online St Sepulchre Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1662
1662
1662
Images
1662-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[5]
1813-1916 Ancestry[6] 1754-1921 Ancestry[7] 1820-1857 Ancestry[8]
Indexes 1662-1859 FamilySearch[9] 1662-1754 FindMyPast[6] 1662-1722 FindMyPast[6]
    1800-1837 Ancestry[10] 1781-1904 FindMyPast[11]
        1781-1904 BritishOrigins[12]
Most St Sepulchre parish registers burned in the Great Fire of London in 1666.
Fire.png

Boundary

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Can you help?

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438784.

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

St Sepulchre.png
  • St Sepulchre, Holborn, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/145); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1589 Subsidy

FamilySearch Books Online

1622 Subsidy

  • St Sepulchre, Holborn, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/505); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy

  • St Sepulchre, Holborn, Farringdon Without Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/515); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid

1801 Census

The 1801 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[13]

1811 Census

The 1811 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[13]

1821 Census

The 1821 Census exists and is held at The British Library.[13]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate records

Will indexes for probate courts covering St Sepulchre Parish are available online.

Before 1858, St Sepulchre fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

St Sepulchre churchyard

Transcripts of early St Sepulchre tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[14]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Sepulchre churchyard.[15]

Find A Grave has created a page on St Sepulchre without Newgate Churchyard (10+ entries).

Records of the Poor

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Sepulchre

References

  1. Cecil R. Humphery-Smith, The Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers 3rd ed. (Chichester, England: Phillimore and Co Ltd, 2003), 192, 194.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  4. Wikipedia Wikipedia. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 January 2014.
  5. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Sepulchre Holborn in the City of London.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Holborn St Sepulchre in the City of London.
  7. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Holborn St Sepulchre in the City of London.fckLR
  8. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Holborn St Sepulchre in the City of London.
  9. Batches C023231, C023232, C023233, C023234, C023235, C023236, C023237, C023238, C023239, C025651, C025652, C025653, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  11. John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  12. 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  13. 13.0 13.1 13.2 Colin R. Chapman, Pre-1841 Censuses and Population Listings in the British Isles, 5th ed. (Dursley, U.K.: Lochin Publising, 2002), 66, 68, 71.
  14. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  15. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 10,483 times.