St Stephen Coleman StreetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Stephen Coleman Street

London St Stephen Coleman Street ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Stephen Coleman Street
Ststephencolemansite.JPG
St Stephen Coleman Street church site
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

"St Stephen Coleman Street, the church of, is situated near the south end of the west side of this street, and derives its name and addition..."[1]

The church has been demolished.

1848 description

St. Stephen, Coleman-street is a parish, of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Parishioners. It is a parish within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]

Resources

Church

Online St Stephen Coleman Street Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1538-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1921 Ancestry[5] 1813-1853 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1538-1716 FamilySearch[7] 1530-1780 findmypast[8] 1813-1853 findmypast[9]
    1538-1754 FamilySearch[10]    
    1754-1780 BritishOrigins[11]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[12]    

Census

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Stephen, Coleman Street, Coleman Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1625 Subsidy

  • St Stephen, Coleman Street, Coleman Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/513); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Probate records

St Stephen Coleman Street.png
Will indexes for probate courts covering St Stephen Coleman Street Parish are available online.

Before 1858, St Stephen Coleman Street fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Cemetery

Transcripts of early St Stephen Coleman Street tombs found in the interior of the church were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[13]

A cemetery survey (1910), available online, covers monumental inscriptions in the St Stephen Coleman Street churchyard.[14]

Find A Grave has created a page on the defunct St Stephen Churchyard (1 entry).

Web Sites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Stephen Coleman Street

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Stephen, Coleman Street in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Stephen Coleman Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Stephen Coleman Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Stephen Coleman Street in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C019662, P019661 (1717-1875, inactive 11/2/2012), see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish registers.
  8. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  9. John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  10. Batch M019661-M019662, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts and microfilmed parish registers.
  11. "Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches," British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  13. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  14. Percy C. Rushden, The Churchyard Inscriptions of the City of London (London: Phillimore and Co., Ltd., 1910). Digitised by Internet Archive.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:24.
  • This page has been accessed 2,698 times.