St Thomas by Launceston, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to St Thomas by Launceston, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Thomas by Launceston, Cornwall
Launceston St Thomas Church .jpg
Launceston St Thomas Church
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Launceston PLU
Registration District Launceston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

THOMAS, ST., THE APOSTLE, a parish, in the union and parliamentary borough of Launceston, N. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall. [1]

St Thomas-by-Launceston is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1726 from chapelry in Launceston St Mary Magdalene Ancient Parish.Other places in the parish include: St Thomas Street. Historically part of the Diocese of Exeter until the creation of the Diocese of Truro.

The Parish of St Thomas-by-Launceston is located in the Anglican Diocese of Truro and is attached to the Deanery of Trigg Major in the Archdeaconry of Bodmin. It is now part of the United Parish of Launceston, the other parts being  St Stephen by Launceston, Cornwall and Launceston St Mary Magdalene, Cornwall

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

St Thomas Street parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
St Thomas Street Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1623-1672

COPC 1623-1913
1563-1913
1595-1890
FMP 1685-1880 1563-1837
IGI 1681-1804

Images of parish register transcript  are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Transcript of registers 1563-1812 by Robert Jago M.A.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Launceston Phillipa Stout.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241258.

Cornwall Online Census Project for census details

Poor Law Unions

Launceston Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

St Thomas by Launceston in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 328-330. Date accessed: 23 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,029 times.