St Thomas the Apostle, Winchelsea, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  SussexGotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes  

St Thomas the Apostle, Winchelsea, Sussex
Winchelsea St Thomas the Martyr East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winchelsea
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Rye PLU
Registration District Rye
Records begin
Parish registers: 1651
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

WINCHELSEA (St. Thomas the Apostle), a borough and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Rye, locally in the hundred of Guestling, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 74 miles (E. by N.) from Chichester, and 63¾ (S. E.) from London. The town is about a mile and a half distant from the sea, and occupies a space nearly two miles in circumference, divided into squares by streets intersecting each other at right angles, probably after the plan of the ancient town. The choir, the only remaining portion of the ancient church, a magnificent cruciform structure, is now appropriated as the parochial church, aud presents an elegant specimen of the early and decorated English styles. On the south side are some stalls and a piscina of beautiful design, and in other parts are several splendid monuments, including three supposed to be memorials of Knights Templars, cross-legged and in armour, of which one, in particular, is hardly excelled by any in the kingdom. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. In addition to the church of St. Thomas were anciently two parochial churches dedicated respectively to St. Leonard and St. Giles.[1]

Winchelsea St Thomas a Becket is an Ancient parish; sometimes referred to as St Thomas the Martyr.

History of St Thomas a Becket and Winchelsea Beach formed as an ecclesiastical parish in the parish of Pett, Sussex originally. Winchelsea parishes

The church has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Winchelsea Wikipedia

The Wesleyan Methodist in Winchelsea has deposited records from 1795 and has been designated as a grade II listed building Wesley Methodist Chapel

See also list of places of worship in Rother

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was within Rye Registration district, from 1935 this was incorporated into Battle Registration district
Certiificates may be obtained from
East Sussex County Council
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

St Thomas the Apostle, Winchelsea, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
St Thomas the Apostle, Winchelsea, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1606-1641, 1881-1893
1683-1881

IGI 1606-1640, 1881-1893
NBI

1914-1934
SOPC
Undefined



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Winchelsea

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464159.

Poor Law Unions

Rye Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 592-613. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.
  5. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,722 times.