St Vedast Foster Lane with St Michael le QuerneEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png St Vedast Foster Lane with St Michael le Querne

London St Vedast Foster Lane with St Michael le Querne family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Vedast Foster Lane with St Michael le Querne
St Vedast Church.jpg
St Vedast Foster Lane
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London
Poor Law Union City of London PLU
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754; Separate records exist for St Michael le Querne beginning 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1799; Separate records exist for St Michael le Querne beginning 1629-31; 1639-40; 1665-66; 1803
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar Jurisdiction of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of the Arches, Croydon and Shoreham and Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Record Office

Contents

Parish History

St Vedast Foster Lane with St Michael-le-Querne, the church of, is situated on the east side of Foster Lane, Cheapside. It is...mentioned as early as 1308. The patronage was anciently in the Prior and Convent of Canterbury, till 1352, when it was transferred to the Archbishop of that see... The old Church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and the present ediface erected in 1697, by Sir Christopher Wren, when the parish of St Michael le-Quern (see that church) was united to it by act of parliament. The Patronage of that latter is in the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's, who present alternately with the Archbishop. It is one of the peculiars of the Archbishop, and is therefore in the province of Canterbury, and exempt from archdiaconal visitations.[1]
St Michael le Querne church site


After the Great Fire of London (1666), St Michael le Querne Parish united with St Vedast Foster Lane Parish.[2]


1848 description

St. Vedast, Foster-lane, with St. Michael le Quern, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is the Archbishop of Canterbury, and the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, alternately. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[3]


St Vedast Foster Lane belonged to Cheap Ward. The parish name has also been spelled St Vedast Fosterlane.


Some authorities spell drop the final "e" from St Michael le Querne Parish, creating the spelling St Michael le Quern Parish.

Resources

Church records

St Michael le Querne Parish

Online St Michael le Querne Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1629
1629
1629
Images
1629-1631, 1639-1640, 1803-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[4]
1813-1884 Ancestry[5] 1803-1836 Ancestry[6] 1813-1849 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1629-1877 FamilySearch[8] 1629-1837 FamilySearch[9] 1685-1837 InternetArchive[10]
1657-1695 TheGenealogist[11] 1629-1836 FindMyPast[12] 1686-1836 FindMyPast[13]
1685-1836 InternetArchive[14] 1629-1665
(gaps)
British Origins[15] 1695-1698 TheGenealogist[11]
    1696-1836 InternetArchive[10] 1754-1849 FindMyPast[16]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[17] 1803-1849 BritishOrigins[18]

St Vedast Foster Lane Parish

Online St Vedast Foster Lane Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1558
1559
1558
Images
1813-1859 Ancestry[5] 1754-1858 Ancestry[6] 1813-1853 Ancestry[7]
Indexes 1558-1857 FamilySearch[19] 1558-1837 FamilySearch[20] 1558-1698 InternetArchive[10]
1558-1836 InternetArchive[14] 1559-1837 InternetArchive[10] 1558-1836 FindMyPast[13]
1558-1836 FreeReg[21] 1559-1837 FreeReg[21] 1558-1837 FreeReg[21]
1558-1709 TheGenealogist[11] 1559-1836 TheGenealogist[11] 1558-1711 TheGenealogist[11]
1838-1840 BritishOrigins[22] 1559-1837 FindMyPast[12] 1813-1853 FindMyPast[16]
    1780-1837 Ancestry[17] 1813-1853 BritishOrigins[18]

Census

Christ Church Newgate Street.png

1541 Subsidy

1547 Subsidy

  • St Michael le Querne, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Vedast, Foster Lane, Farringdon Within Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1582 Subsidy

1625 Subsidy

  • St Michael le Querne, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/555); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List

1645 Subsidy

  • St Michael le Querne, Farringdon Ward Within, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/590 Part 14); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1666 Hearth Tax

1692-1932 Land Taxes

1695 Inhabitants Lists

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, St Vedast Foster Lane fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, Shoreham. St Michael le Querne fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. In practice, many St Michael le Querne residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[23] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery

St Vedast Foster Lane churchyard site

Transcripts of early St Vedast Foster Lane with St Michael le Querne tombs found in the interior of the churches were published in Catalogue of the most Memorable Persons who had visible Tombs, plated Gravestones ... in the City of London (through) A.D. 1700, which is available online.[24]

Records of the Poor

During the seventeenth century, officials gave some foundlings discovered in St Vedast Foster Lane Parish the unique surname Vedast.[25]

Websites

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Vedast Foster Lane
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Michael le Querne

References

  1. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. Phillip B. Dunn, A Guide to Ancestral Research in London (Salt Lake City, Utah: Mountainland Printing and Marketing, c1987, 1992), 58-59. FHL Book 942.1/L1 D27d.
  3. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England Adapted. Date accessed: 20 December 2013.
  4. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Michael Le Querne in the City of London. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  5. 5.0 5.1 London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Michael Le Querne in the City of London | St Vedast Foster Lane in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  6. 6.0 6.1 London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Michael Le Querne in the City of London | St Vedast Foster Lane in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  7. 7.0 7.1 London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Michael Le Querne in the City of London | St Vedast Foster Lane in the City of London. Partially indexed.
  8. Batch C044901, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  9. Batch M001551, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011.
  10. 10.0 10.1 10.2 10.3 Willoughby A. Littledale, The Registers of St. Vedast, Foster Lane, and of St. Michael le Quern, London (London, 1903). Digital version at Internet Archive. (St. Vedast marr. 1559-1837; St. Michael le Quern marr. 1696-1836; St. Vedast bur. 1558-1698; St. Michael le Quern bur. 1685-1837.)
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 'London Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 12 December 2011.
  12. 12.0 12.1 "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  13. 13.0 13.1 "Boyd's London Burials Index - places and counts," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes adult male burials only.
  14. 14.0 14.1 Willoughby Aston Littledale, The Registers of St. Vedast, Foster Lane, and of St. Michael le Quern, London (London, 1902). Digital version at Internet Archive; another Internet Archive copy. (St. Vedast chr. 1558-1836; St. Michael le Quern chr. 1685-1836)
  15. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  16. 16.0 16.1 John Hanson, "City of London Burials," Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  17. 17.0 17.1 Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  18. 18.0 18.1 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  19. Batches P001551, C001552, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes xxxx.
  20. Batch M001551 (inactive 21/02/2012), see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes parish register transcripts (1558-1837).
  21. 21.0 21.1 21.2 Middlesex and London Coverage, FreeReg, accessed 6 November 2012.
  22. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  23. "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  24. Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  25. Nathan W. Murphy, "London Foundlings in Colonial America: Overseas Leads to Dead Ends: John Abchurch, William Abchurch, Isaac Jewry, and Henry Woolchurch of Virginia and Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Jul./Oct. 2008):131-140.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 21:59.
  • This page has been accessed 3,103 times.