Stafford Christ Church, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Stafford Christ Church, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stafford Christ Church, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Pirehill; Stafford
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stafford PLU
Registration District Stafford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stafford
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stafford Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1844 from Stafford St Mary, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is a non-Church of England denomination located somewhere in Stafford, but the exact parish has not been identified. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Stafford Christ Church was formed in 1844 from Stafford St Mary, Staffordshire The church was demolished in 1979. the parish is now at Rowley Street in a shared ecumenical Anglican/Methodist church building.

Stafford Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
STAFFORD CHRIST CHURCH PARISH (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1839-1888
1845-1876

FMP 1839-1900 1839-1900 1845-1900 1845-1900 1830-1893 1830-1893
FREG 1839-1907

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1839-1976 Mar 1845-1979 Bur 1839-1892
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1839-1872 Mar 1849-1851 Bur 1839-1871 missing 1856, 1867 Bap/Bur

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474632.

Poor Law Unions

Stafford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Stafford/index.html

Reference

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 September 2014.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,404 times.