Stafford St Chad, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Stafford St Chad, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stafford St Chad, Staffordshire
Stafford St Chad Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Pirehill; Stafford
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stafford PLU
Registration District Stafford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1636
Bishop's Transcripts: 1636
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stafford
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Prebend of Prees or Pipe Minor
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stafford St Chad is an Ancient parish and the oldest building in Stafford. it is now a district church of Stafford St Mary, Staffordshire. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is a non-Church of England denomination located somewhere in Stafford, but the exact parish has not been identified.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Stafford St Chad Ancient Parish and district church to the Collegiate church of Stafford St Mary

Stafford St Chad parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
STAFFORD ST CHAD PARISH (1589) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1765-1803
1766-1804

FMP 1636-1876 1636-1876

FREG 1813-1911
1813-1887
1813-1859
FS 1636-1864
1636-1848

JOIN
1637-1811

NBI

1589-1916
PALL
1790-1811

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1636-1938 Mar 1636-1956 Bur 1636-1859
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1636-1865 Mar 1636-1848 Bur 1636-1839

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474632.

Poor Law Unions

Stafford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 22:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,232 times.