Stafford St Mary, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Stafford St Mary, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stafford St Mary, Staffordshire
Collegiate Church of St Mary Stafford .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Pirehill; Stafford
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stafford PLU
Registration District Stafford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stafford
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stafford St Mary is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Hopton and Coton. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Stafford St Mary include: Christians, Independent/Congregational, Methodist New Connexion, Particular Baptist, Plymouth Brethren, Presbyterian, Primitive Methodist, Society of Friends/Quaker, and Wesleyan Methodist. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is a non-Church of England denomination located somewhere in Stafford, but the exact parish has not been identified.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Stafford St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
STAFFORD ST MARY PARISH (1551) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1856-1876
1852-1876

FREG
1813-1814
1559-1589, 1813-1841
FS 1559-1868
1559-1851, 1861-1876

JOIN
1559-1671

NBI

1551-1923

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1559-1980 Mar 1559-1984 Bur 1559-1984
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1674-1868 Mar 1674- 1851 Bur 1674-1867

Stafford St Chad, Staffordshire and other district churches and mission churches were formed from the parish

Stafford St Bertelin was built in 1856 as a mission church and is now a district Church

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1958-1989 Mar 1971-1990 Bur none


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474632.

Poor Law Unions

Stafford Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,537 times.