England-staffordshire.png
Staffordshire, or Stafford, is an inland county located in the mid-western part of England.

Contents

Featured Content

UPDATE: Parish pages now link to online parish registers across various websites.

Jurisdictions

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Staffordshire.

Civil Districts

When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Staffordshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes.  The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place.  Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Staffordshire and the parishes covered by each.  Read more about England Civil Registration.

Probate Jurisdictions

Before 1858, every town and parish in Staffordshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts.  To read more about probate records and see a list of Staffordshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Staffordshire Probate Records.


Church Records

The following three large online sites hold extensive Staffordshire parish register transcriptions and are in-process of increasing transcribed data to be published online at:

Already millions of entries are available for searching at these websites, with entries from early to post-1900.

Parishes

Websites

This website allows free access to the indexes listed below :
  • Calendars of Prisoners at Staffordshire Quarter Sessions, 1779-1880
  • Staffordshire Police Force Registers Index, 1842-1920
  • Diocese of Lichfield Wills, 1650-1700
  • Staffordshire Apprentices, 1600-1900
  • Workhouse Admissions and Discharges, 1836-1900

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 April 2015, at 21:04.
  • This page has been accessed 12,110 times.