Staffordshire Church RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Church Records

Contents

Parish Registers

Many Staffordshire parish registers are available for free online at FreeREG and FamilySearch.

Baptisms

421,036 Staffordshire entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1]

Marriages

128,327 Staffordshire entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[2]

Burials

Burials from 246 Staffordshire places (779,196 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[3]

Parish Registers Held by Incumbents

The following parish registers are still kept at their respective churches and have not been deposited at an archive:

  • Harlaston St Matthew Chapelry
  • Lichfield Christ Church District Chapelry
  • Woore St Leonard Chapelry[4]
The Parish Chest.jpg

Staffordshire Parish Chest records at the Family History Library

See Wiki articles on Parish Chest records or English Poor Law pre-1834 for more information on what they are and what type of valuable information they contain.

These microfilms can be ordered through FamilySearch and delivered to a FamilySearch Center near your home.  

PARISH YEARS
Abbots-Bromley 1694-1892
Adbaston 1823-1837
Aldridge 1660-1866
Alrewas 1671-1842
Alton 1795-1837
Armitage 1691-1855
Ashley 1665-1855
Balterley 1824; 1838
Barton-under-Needwood 1651-1830
Baswick 1683-1890
Betley 1658-1865; 1824
Biddulph 1630-1734
Bilston 1669-1733
Blithfield 1651-1839
Blymhill 1703-1901
Bradley 1688-1836
Brewood 1662-1832
Brownhills 1878-1895
Burton-upon-Trent 1618-1795
Burntwood 1674-1853
Bushbury 1704-1837
Cannock 1674-1840
Castle-Church 1753-1817
Clifton-Campville 1721-1840
Cheadle 1654-1765
Cheddleton 1809-1867
Checkley 1628-1837
Chorlton 1810-1854
Church-Eaton 1686-1819
Codsalls 1775
Colton 1702-1839
Colwich  1686-1867
Croxden 1787-1837
Darlaston 1690-1818; 1793, 1893
Dilhorne 1699-1843
Drayton-Bassett 1632-1834
Endon 1698-1822
Enville 1687-1851
Farewell 1773-1779
Fradswell 1701-1853
Gayton 1722-1834
Gnosall 1650-1838
Great Barr 1752-1837
Great Wyrley 1712-1840
Grindon 1688-1741
Hamstall-Ridware  1663-1847
Hanbury 1634-1846
Handsworth 1802-1836; 1802-1899
Harborne 1870-1897; 1699-1835
Hatherton 1712-1805
Haughton 1693-1849
High Offley 1793-1825
Hints 1735-1921
Ingestre 1831-1853
Ipstones 1831-1923
Kinfare 1660-1840
King's Bromley 1694-1849
Kingsley 1676-1848
Lapley 1731-1886
Leigh 1761-1837
Lichfield 1632-1837
Longdon 1707-1818
Madeley 1664-1868
Maer 1728-1810
Marston 1792-1836
Mavesyn-Ridware 1668-1694
Milwich 1707-1868
Norbury 1717-1886
Norton-under-Cannock 1781-1817; 1853-1900
Patshull 1688-1805
Pattingham 1652-1845
Rochester 1680-1837
Rugeley 1732-1836
Rushall 1824-1865
Sandon 1739-1843
Saredon 1724-1799
Sedgley 1816-1834; 1819-1841; 1354-1697
Seighford 1731-1828
Sheen 1868-1889
Shenstone 1666-1847
Stafford St. Chad and St. Mary 1735-1744
Standon 1696-1846
Stowe 1711-1900
stretton near Penkridge 1760-1847
Tamworth 1733-1839
Tettenhall 1637-1862
Thorpe-Constantine 1755-1851
Trysull 1709-1885
Tutbury 1685-1918
Uttoxeter 1633-1840
Walsall 1619-1705
Wednesbury 1714-1824
Wednesfield 1809-1901; 1849
Weeford 1768-1848
Weston-Jones 1762-1886
Weston-under-Lizard 1769-1827
Whitmore 1803-1837
Whitmore St. Mary and All Saints 1666-1685
Wichnor 1713-1831
Wombourn 1811-1827
Wordesley
Wolverhampton 1777-1911
Yoxhall 1659-1927


Other records dealing with the parish poor

West Midlands 1815-1850
Labour and the poor in England and Wales v. 2 (Staffordshire, The Midlands) 1849-1851
Poor relief in Staffordshire Lists changes between 1662-1840

References

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.
  4. Peter D. Bloore, National Index of Parish Registers: Vol. 6, Part 1: Staffordshire (London: Society of Genealogists, 1992), 65, 71, 100.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:58.
  • This page has been accessed 1,942 times.