Stalmine, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Stalmine, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stalmine, Lancashire
Stalmine St James contributor Tom Richardson.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Garstang PLU
Registration District Garstang
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583
Bishop's Transcripts: 1678
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Stalmine St James was created a chapel of ease by 1583 from, and lying within the boundaries of Lancaster St Mary Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Pilling Lane, Staynall, Stalmine with Staynall, and Preesall with Hackinsall.

The civil parish containing the village is Stalmine-with-Staynall, which was listed as a township in the parish of Lancaster in 1835.

The village history dates back to 1066 when Tostig Godwinson held it as part of his Preston Fee. The first recorded possessor was Robert de Stalmine in 1165. The chapel of Stalmine was first mentioned about 1200 and a cemetery was consecrated in 1230. The chapel was rebuilt in 1806 when it was renamed St James. In 1689 Stalmine had a Presbyterian meeting house, which in 1717 was stated to be located "very near to the chapel".
The village church, St. James Church  on Hallgate Lane, has a sundial dated 1690.

"STALMINE, with Staynall [created by 1583], a township, and chapelry, in the parish of Lancaster, union of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire, 5 miles north by northeast of Poulton. The original chapel was dedicated to St Oswald: the present building was erected in 1806, and dedicated to St. James."[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Transcripts of this parish are available.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Stalmine chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Lancaster St Mary to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


STALMINE ST JAMES WITH STAYNALL CHAPEL Chapelry (1583) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1583-1900 1584-1900  1684-1898
LOPC 1583-1900 1583-1900 1583-1899
AC  1583-1724 1583-1724 1583-1724 
LANCASTER ST MARY'S PARISH (1599) Indexes (ancient parish containing STALMINE Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1599-1886 1599-1812  None
LOPC 1749-1900 1599-1900 1749-1881
FMP  None 1539-1837 None
LBMD None 1837-1998 None 
AC 1559-1748 1559-1748 1559-1748


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Stalmine and comprising the whole ancient parish of Lancaster St Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LANCASTER ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306936.


Poor Law Unions

Garstang Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 175-180. Date accessed: 18 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,686 times.