Stalybridge St Paul, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Stalybridge St Paul, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stalybridge St Paul, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1839
Bishop's Transcripts: 1782
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office


Contents

Parish History

STALYBRIDGE, is a market-town, in the union of Ashton-under-Lyne; partly in the Hartshead division of the parish of Ashton-under-Lyne, hundred of Salford, South division of the county of Lancaster; partly in the township of Dukinfield, parish of Stockport, and partly in the township of Stayley, parish of Mottram-in-Longdendale, hundred of Macclesfield, N. division of the county of Chester; it is 1 mile (E. by S.) from Ashton, 7 miles (E.) from Manchester, and 8 (N. E. by N.) from Stockport.

 The chapel, at Cocker Hill, dedicated to St. George, was erected by subscription in 1776. An additional church, also dedicated to St. George, was built in 1840. At Stayley and Dukinfield are other churches. There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Independents, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Stalybridge St Paul is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1840 from  Mottram in Longdendale, Cheshire Ancient Parish.

A meeting was held on the 9th May 1835 in the Eagle Inn to which 13 gentlemen attended. They were all of the opinion that a new church should be built in the township of Stayley. Richard Tattersall of Manchester was chosen as the architect with the brief that the design was to be the Early English Perpendicular Style of the 13th century. The Foundation Stone was laid by Viscount Combermere on the 2nd February 1838 with an impressive ceremony which was watched by some 12,000 - 15,000 prople. The church was consecrated on the 9th October 1839 and almost the total cost of 4,100 pounds was covered by the subscriptions raised.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241239.

Church records

Stalybridge St. Paul registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Stalybridge St. Paul Parish (1839) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1851-1860, 1865-1894
1861-1906


FS PR's 1839-1909
  NONE
1841-1926
  NONE
1839-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FMP (£)  
 
 
 
1839-1905
1839-1905
NBI



1839-1905

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Historical Records

Parish registers for St. Paul's, Staleybridge, 1839-1991 Microfilm copy of original record in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England.
Staleybridge- St. Paul has also been known as the chaplery of Staley. Was formerly in Mottram-in-Longdendale and Stockport parishes.
Cheshire Record Office no.: P150/1/1-3, P150/2/1-10, P150/3/1-8, P150/4202/1, P150/5354/4, P150/4202/4.

Content Parish Registers
Film
Baptisms, 1839-1894
FHL BRITISH Film
1656490 Items 5-7
Marriages, 1841-1872
FHL BRITISH Film
1656491
Marriages, 1872-1908
FHL BRITISH Film
1656492
Burials, 1839-1889
FHL BRITISH Film
1656481
Baptisms, 1894-1944; Marriages, 1908-1926; Burials, 1889-1901
VAULT BRITISH Film
2045914
Burials, 1901-1905
FHL BRITISH Film
2045915 Item 1
Marriages, 1926-1943; Burials, 1905-1913
VAULT BRITISH Film
2068967 Items 3 - 4
Burials, 1913-1935
VAULT BRITISH Film
2068968
Burials, 1935-1967
FHL BRITISH Film
2068969 Items 1-2
Burials, 1967-1991; Marriages, 1943-1965
VAULT BRITISH Film
2262943 Items 1 - 2
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • General Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Particular Baptist
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration District
  • Ashton under Lyne (1894-1937)
  • Hyde (1937-74)
  • Tameside (1974+)

Poor Law Unions

Ashton under Lyne, Lancashire, Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cheshire Probate Jurisdictions, Parishes S-Z

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stalybridge GENUKI

Stalybridge St Paul on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,447 times.