Stamfordham, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Stamfordham, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stamfordham, Northumberland
St Mary's Stamfordham Northumberland.jpg
St Mary's Stamfordham Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Castle Ward PLU
Registration District Castle Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1769
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corbridge
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STAMFORDHAM (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Castle ward, N. E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland, 12½ miles (W. N. W.) from Newcastle-upon-Tyne; There is a place of worship in the village for Presbyterians, at Matfen one for Wesleyans, and at Cheeseburn-Grange one for Roman Catholics.[1]

Additional information:

Stamfordham St Mary the Virgin is an extensive Ancient Parish which includes includes Bitchfield, Black-Heddon, Cheeseburn Grange, Fenwick, Hawkwell, Heugh, Ingoe, Kearsley, Matfen (East), Matfen (West), Nesbit, Ouston, Ryal, and Wallridge. It is bounded on the north by Bolam, on the west by St. John Lee and Halton, on the south by Corbridge and Ovingham, and on the east by Heddon-on-the-Wall and Newburn.

The church, erected about the 13th century, is in the early English style, and stands west of the market-cross; the chancel was built by the Fenwicks, of Fenwick Tower, and contains several monumental inscriptions to that family and the Swinburnes.

Ryall became a chapel of ease; and Holy Trinity Matfen, Northumberland was formed from the parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/238 Date: 1769-1836  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Stamfordham, St Mary the Virgin: Records of baptisms 1662-1978, marriages 1662-1962 and burials 1662-1865 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1662-1812 and marriages 1727-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1662-1812 and banns 1754-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1662-1812, marriages 1662-1704 and 1727-1812 and burials 1662-1812 for Stamfordham are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Matfen, Holy Trinity: Records of baptisms 1844-1974, marriages 1846-1979 and burials 1845-1972 are available at Northumberland Collections Service.

A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Stamfordham, Ryal and Matfen (microfiche TN87) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Nonconformist Records

  •  Cheeseburn Grange, St Francis Xavier (Roman Catholic): Records of baptisms 1775-1863, marriages 1787-1906 and deaths 1783-1797 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes births/baptisms 1775-1840 and some marriages. Transcripts of baptisms 1775-1840 and deaths 1786-1797 are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.
  •  Stamfordham (Presbyterian): Records of births/baptisms 1754-1896 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes births/baptisms 1754-1875.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Castle Ward Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 13 August 2013.

References

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 16:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,105 times.