Standon, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Standon, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Standon, Staffordshire
Standon All Saints Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stone PLU
Registration District Stone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Eccleshall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STANDON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Stone, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 4 miles (N. N. W.) from Eccleshall. [1]

The History of Standon: Parish, Manour and Church, with Two Hundred Years of Registers (1888) has been digitised by Internet Archive - free.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Standon All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
STANDON PARISH (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1656-1812
1656-1812
1656-1812
FS 1558-1856
1558-1856

IARC 1558-1758
1558-1758
1558-1758
IARC 1558-1812
1558-1812
1558-1812
JOIN
1558-1774

PALL
1790-1812

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1558-1965 Mar 1558-1999 Bur 1558-2002
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap/ Mar/ Bur 1659-1856


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Poor Law Unions

Stone Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Standon/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 180-183. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,158 times.