Stanford, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Stanford, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stanford, Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stouting
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556; For more records see Lyminge
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stanford is a village in the Shepway district of Kent.

Stanford was originally formed as a chapel of ease to Lyminge, Kent Ancient Parish in the Elham deanery of the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the modern parish is available at A church near you

The present church was built in 1841 on the site of a much earlier one and restored in 1878.

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 63-78. Date accessed: 14 November 2013. at British History Online

Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stanford, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Stanford, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1556-1897 1556-1897 1559-1927 1559-1927 1556-1988 1556-1988

Land Tax

Images for Monks Horton, Kent Stanford, Kent and Stowting, Kent are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306873.


 

Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

STANDFORD (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Elham, hundred of Stouting, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 3½ miles (N. W.) from Hythe. [4]



Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 180-183. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,953 times.