Stanford on Soar, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Stanford on Soar, Nottinghamshire
St John the Baptist Stanford on Soar Nottinghamshire.jpg
St John the Baptist Stanford on Soar Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Loughborough PLU
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1633
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

STANFORD-UPON-SOAR, (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 1 mile (N. by E.) from Loughborough.[1]

Additional information:

St John the Baptist was begun in the 13th Century and underwent a significant restoration in 1893. It is within the Anglican Diocese of Southwell and Nottingham and is the most southerly parish in the Province of York. It also forms part of a joint Benefice with the neighbouring parishes of Costock, Nottinghamshire, East Leake, Nottinghamshire, West Leake, Nottinghamshire and  Rempstone, Nottinghamshire.

A history of the church has been researched by Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project Stanford-on-Soar

The church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

see also Stanford on Soar Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stanford on Soar, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
STANFORD ON SOAR PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1633-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1633-1901 Marriages 1634-1900 Burials 1654-1904 Bishop's Transcripts 1602-1841
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Stanford on Soar

Stanford on Soar, John the Baptist. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dated from  1760 giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 41-43, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 658 times.