Stanhoe, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Stanhoe, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stanhoe, Norfolk
Stanhoe All Saints contributor Evelyn Simak.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Smithdon
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Heacham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STANHOE (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 12 miles (N.) from Rougham. [1]

Stanhoe All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich. Other places in the parish include: Barwick.

Stanhoe is a village and civil parish in the English county of Norfolk, only 6.4 miles (10.2 km) from the North Sea. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk. During the 19th century, one of its parish priests was Philip Ward, husband of Lord Nelson's daughter Horatia.
The nearest large village is  Docking, Norfolk. Also near Stanhoe are to be found remains of Creake Abbey, near the village of  North Creake, Norfolk.

The people of the village of Barwick have no parish church and by 1845 were using the church at Stanhoe.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stanhoe, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
Stanhoe, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1567-1837

FREG 1558-1880
1558-1902
1558-1908
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1558-1661, 1707-1759, 1790-1868 Undefined 1558-1661, 1707-1902 Undefined 1558-1661, 1707-1759, 1790-1907
JOIN
1567-1837

PALL
1790-1859

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 36 Parish Records of Stanhoe with Barwick

Parish registers of Stanhoe with Barwick, 1558-1908 Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.
Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD36/1-9.
The ecclesiastical parishes of Stanhoe and Barwick were combined in 1511. Although two separate communities, the church in Stanhope serves both.
For what could be changes in the early dates in these registers, see the note inserted after the baptisms of 1789. It appears, by this note, that the starting date was 1568, not 1558.

General register of baptisms, marriages and burials, 1558-1709; General register of baptism, marriages and burials, 1707-1759 (heavily interspersed with "briefs", i.e., collections made for various disasters), baptisms and burials, 1760-1790; Baptisms and burials, 1790-1812; Baptisms, 1813-1868 (register in poor condition); Marriages and banns, 1755-1821; Marriages, 1813-1902; Burials, 1813-1908; Banns, 1824-1844. FHL BRITISH Film 2149816 Items 6 - 14
Banns (contd.), 1844-1890. FHL BRITISH Film 2149817 Item 1
Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812 Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526810 Item 9

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.


Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.183-186. Date accessed:10 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,711 times.