Stanlow, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Stanlow, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stanlow, Cheshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STAN LOW-HOUSE, is an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Great Boughton, the Higher division of the hundred of Wirrall, South division of the county of Chester, it is 8 miles (N. by E.) from Chester. It is situated on the estuary of the Mersey. An abbey of Cistercian monks was founded here in 1178; but on account of the inundations of the Mersey in 1296, it was removed to Whalley, in Lancashire.[1]

Stanlow was an extra parochial place in Cheshire and it is neccessary to search surrounding parishes for ecclesiastical records. Great Stanney is the parish to which Stanlow was attached . Stanlow became a civil parish in 1866 and was added to Great Stanney in 1911. In 1964 Ellesmere Port Christ Church became the parish church for the area.

The abbey was founded in 1178 by John FitzRichard, the sixth Baron of Halton.  In 1279 it was flooded by water from the Mersey and in 1287 during a fierce storm. The monks appealed to the pope for the monastery to be moved to a better site and, this move took place in 1296. However a small cell of monks remained on the site until the Reformation, the site becoming a grange of Whalley Abbey. The remains of the abbey lie between the Mersey and the Manchester Ship Canal.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241252.

Church records

Stanlow extra-parochial no records.

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Stanlow Extra-Parochial No Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. 

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–50)
  • registration events may be searched online at Cheshire BMD

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stanlow on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 8 April 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 19:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,172 times.