Stanmer, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Stanmer, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ringmer
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Newhaven PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1550
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery South Malling
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STANMER, a parish, in the union of Newhaven, hundred of Ringmer, rape of Pevensey, though locally in that of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Brighton. Here is Stanmer Park, the seat of the Earl of Chichester, lying to the north of the road and railway between Brighton and Lewes. The church was rebuilt in 1839, at the expense of the Earl of Chichester, and consecrated by the Archbishop of Canterbury on the 24th of October in that year. It is in the early English style, with a tower surmounted by a graceful and well-proportioned spire; the details are elegant, and the whole displays a rich and beautiful specimen of that style.[1]

Stanmer is a village on the outskirts of Brighton and is part of the city of Brighton and Hove. Stanmer Wikipedia

The former Anglican Church was declared redundant in 2008 Stanmer Church Wikipedia

A history of the church ( dedication unknown) is available at Sussex Parish Churches Stanmer Church

The church has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Stanmer Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Stanmer Parish Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship include

The Meeting House, Sussex University Chapel, University of Sussex

See also list of places to worship in Brighton and Hove

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Stanmer, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Stanmer, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1890
1881-1886

IGI 1550-1880 1550-1880



Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Stanmer

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464163.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

Poor Law Unions

Newhaven Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 183-186. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:13.
  • This page has been accessed 649 times.