Stannington, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Stannington, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stannington, Northumberland
Stannington St Mary.jpg
Stannington St Mary
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Castle
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Castle Ward PLU
Registration District Castle Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658
Bishop's Transcripts: 1758
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle upon Tyne
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STANNINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and W. division of Castle ward, S. division of Northumberland, 5 miles (S. by E.) from Morpeth; There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Stannington St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish and includes: Bellasis, Blagdon, Clifton and Coldwell, Duddo, East and West Duddoe, North-East Stannington, Plessey and Shotton, Saltwick, South Stannington, Stannington North-West, Stannington North-East, and Stannington South.

Stannington is a village and parish in southeast Northumberland. It lies on the River Blyth, approximately 7 kilometres (4.5 miles) south of Morpeth.

The parish church is dedicated to St. Mary. The original church was erected about 1190. A new church was built in 1871. Some of the stained glass in the new church was rescued from the earlier building.

Stannington was also the venue for two hospitals - Stannington Children's Hospital, (formerly known as Philipson's Colony), the first children's T.B. sanatorium in the country and St. Mary's, formerly the Gateshead Lunatic Asylum. Both hospitals closed in the recent past.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/240 Date: 1758, 1760-1847
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Stannington, St Mary the Virgin: Records of baptisms 1658-1959, marriages 1659-1959 and burials 1658-1959 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1658-1875 and marriages 1658-1877 for this parish, but it is not included in Boyd's Marriage Index. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Stannington, (microfiche TN90) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438887.

Poor Law Unions

Castle Ward Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,567 times.