Stanwix, CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Gotoarrow.png Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Stanwix, Cumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stanwix, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cumberland; Eskdale
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Carlisle PLU
Registration District Carlisle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1668
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STANWIX (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Carlisle, partly in Cumberland ward, but chiefly in Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland, ½ a mile (N.) from Carlisle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stanwix parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[3]
STANWIX PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG None None 1662-1837 None None None
PALL
1790-1837

TGEN 1662-1837
1662-1837
1662-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241282.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Parish Records - Cumberland Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 June 2014, at 20:02.
  • This page has been accessed 859 times.