Staple InnEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png London Gotoarrow.png London Parishes Gotoarrow.png Staple Inn

London Staple Inn ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Staple Inn or Staple's Inn, Holborn, is three houses on the south side going from Middle Row towards Farringdon Street. It is an Inn of Chancery, and an appendage as an Inn of court to Gray's Inn. This in is said to have been anciently a hall for the accommodation of wool staplers, whence it derived its name; but it wasn't even of Chancery before 1415, and in 1529 the benchers of Gray's Inn purchased it for its present purpose.[1]



Staple Inn
and Gray's Inn are extra-parochial places in the parish of Holborn.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Holborn St Andrew.png

Websites

References

  1. James Elmes, M.R. I. A., Architect, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Envirions (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digital version: Google Books.
  2. Wilson, John, M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1871-72) Adapted. Date accessed: 31 December 2013.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,513 times.