Staple Inn, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Guide to Staple Inn, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Staple Inn, Middlesex
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Inns of Court and Chancery
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Holborn PLU
Registration District Holborn
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Holborn (St Andrew above the Bars), parish, Middlesex, in Finsbury parliamentary borough.[1]

Staple's Inn, Holborn, is three houses on the south side, going from Middle Row towards Farringdon Street. It is an inn of Chancery, and an appendage as an inn of court to Gray's Inn. This inn is said to have been anciently a hall for the accomodation of wool staplers, whence it derived its name; but it was an inn of Chancery before 1415, and in 1529 the benchers of Gray's Inn purchased it for its present purpose.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438786.

1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Staple Inn in Holborn on GENUKI

References

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 26 January 2014.
  2. James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs, (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 November 2014, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,314 times.