Staplefield Common, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Staplefield Common, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Staplefield Common, Sussex
St Mark Staplefield West Sussex.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buttinghill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Cuckfield PLU
Registration District Cuckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1852
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STAPLEFIELD-COMMON, a chapelry in Cuckfield parish, Sussex; 4¼ miles NW of Haywards-Heath railway station. It was constituted in 1848; and it has a post-office under Crawley. The church was built in 1847. There are an Independent chapel and a national school.[1]

Staplefield St Mark is an Ecclesiastical parish formed in 1848 from Cuckfield, Sussex Ancient Parish.

Church history Staplefiedl St Mark

St Mark's Church Staplefield has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building

Staplefield Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Other places of worship include

Our Lady of Fatima (Roman Catholic) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

list of places of worship in Mid Sussex Wikipedia See also the civil parish of Ansty and Staplefield Staplefield Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
01243 642122

Church records

Staplefield Common, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Staplefield Common, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1847-1902
1849-1900
1847-1903

Staplefield St Mark

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1847-1958 Marr 1849-1988 Bur 1847-1956 Bishop's Transcripts 1852-1893

Link to the FamilySearch Cataloguw showing the film numbers in their collection Staplefield Common

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160.

Poor Law Unions

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,331 times.