Starcross, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Starcross, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Starcross, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Exminster
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot PLU
Registration District Newton Abbot; St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1828
Bishop's Transcripts: 1831
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kenn
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STARCROSS, a port and ecclesiastical district, in the parishes of Kenton and Dawlish, unions of St. Thomas and Newton-Abbott, hundred of Exminster, Wonford and S. divisions of Devon, 1½ mile (W. by N.) from Exmouth. The church, which was consecrated on the 4th of February 1828, is a neat substantial structure. An ancient chapel at Cofton, originally founded in the 14th century, and which had for nearly eighty years been in a state of dilapidation, was restored by the Earl of Devon to its pristine elegance, and opened for divine service on the 9th of January, 1839.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Starcross, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Starcross, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1828-1837

IGI 1828-1843

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241310.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 195-198. Date accessed: 3 November 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2014, at 16:05.
  • This page has been accessed 484 times.