Starr County, TexasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Texas go to Counties S go to Starr County

Guide to Starr County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Texas
Online Records


Starr County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Starr County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 10, 1848
County Seat Rio Grande City
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Starr County Courthouse
Rm 201
Rio Grande City, TX 78582
Phone: 956.487.2101

County Clerk has birth records from 1880, death
records from 1903, marriage records from 1858,
probate records from 1853, land records from 1848,
court records from 1932, naturalization records
1883-1898 and military discharge records from 1919[1]

History

The first settlement was in 1753, and was part of Jose de Escandion's Colony.

Parent County

1848--Starr County was created 10 February 1848 from Nueces County. County seat: Rio Grande City. [2]

Boundary Changes

1852 - Large portion of eastern Starr County became Hidalgo County.

1860 - Part of the western portion of Starr County became Zapata County.

1911 - Part of northern Starr County became Brooks County. [3]

Record Loss

Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Escobares | La Casita-Garciasville | La Grulla | Rio Grande City | Roma

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

WorldCat

Findagrave.com

Interment.net


Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves



Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran
  • Records of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, Escobares, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Starr County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

Maps

Txstarr.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Starr County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records


A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
    Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce


Societies and Libraries

Rio Grande City Public Library
591 E Canales St
Rio Grande City, TX 78582
Phone: (956)487-4389

  • Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Starr County, Texas. Page 674 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Handbook of Texas Online: Starr County

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 18:42.
  • This page has been accessed 7,687 times.