Staunton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Staunton, Nottinghamshire
Staunton+in+the+Vale St+Mary Nottinghamshire.jpg
Staunton+in+the+Vale St+Mary Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newark PLU
Registration District Bingham; Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

STAUNTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newark, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 6¾ miles (S.) from Newark; containing, with the chapelry of Flawborough. There is a chapel of ease at Flawborough.[1]

Additional information:

Staunton St Mary or Staunton in the Vale is an Ancient Parish and from it was formed the chapelry of Flawborough, Nottinghamshire. The extensive parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbour Long Bennington, Lincolnshire

Church History Staunton St Mary

The Parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district

Certificates can be obtained from:

Newark
The Register Office
County Offices
Balderton Gate
Newark
NG24 1UW
01636 705455
01636 679259
newarkro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Staunton, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
STAUNTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1654-1812


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1654-1901 Marriages 1655-1901 Burials 1654-1905 Bishop's Transcripts 1608-1842
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Staunton

Staunton. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1329, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. The original is held at Nottinhamshire Archives Ref DD/TS  19/28 and article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 64, pages 25-26, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Staunton Chapel in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 14:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,103 times.