Staveley, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Staveley, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Staveley, Lancashire
Staveley in Cartmel StMary contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1857
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Staveley St Mary was an ancient chapel of ease created by 1718 from, and lying within the boundaries of   Cartmel Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Newby Bridge Staveley is referred to as Staveley-in-Cartmel to avoid confusion with Staveley, Westmorland

The church is in the Diocese of Carlisle and the Archdeaconry of Windermere, St. Mary's is one of three parishes which constitute the Leven Valley Benefice.

Historically in Lancashire since 1974 Staveley has been in Cumbria.

STAVELEY, a chapelry, in the parish of Cartmel,union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster,9 miles (N. E.) from Ulverston. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Staveley chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Cartmel to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


STAVELEY ST MARY Chapelry  (1857) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1857-1873 None 1857-1873
LOPC None None None
LBMD None None None
CARTMEL ST MARY AND ST MICHAEL PARISH (1558) Indexes (ancient parish containing STAVELEY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1559-1724, 1832-1882 1559-1723, 1832-1880 1832-1882
LOPC 1832-1870 1832-1869 1832-1869
LBMD None None None
FMP None 1559-1837 None
AC 1559-1661 1559-1661 1559-1661
FREG 1558-1661 1559-1648 1622-1659 (part.)


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Staveley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Cartmel to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the CARTMEL PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306914.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/en-422155-church-of-st-mary-staveley-in-cartmel British listed Buildings online

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 195-198. Date accessed: 18 November 2013.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,403 times.