Stawell, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Stawell, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stawell, Somerset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitley
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bridgwater PLU
Registration District Bridgwater
Records begin
Parish registers: 1675; For more records see Moorlinch
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Glastonbury
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

STAWELL, a chapelry in Moorlinch parish, Somerset; 4 miles E by N of Bridgewater railway station. The living is annexed to Moorlinch.[1]

STAWELL, a chapelry, in the parish of Moorlinch, union of Bridgwater, hundred of Whitley, W. division of Somerset, 5 miles (E. by N.) from Bridgwater.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages ahttp://british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50746#s16nd deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stawell, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
Stawell, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1675-1812
1675-1775
1675-1812
MARR
1676-1740

NBI

1624-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474606.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Stawell/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 25 September 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, [ A Topographical Dictionary of England], (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 12 December 2013.
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 13 February 2014.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 August 2014, at 18:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,114 times.