Steele County, Minnesota GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Steele County, Minnesota)

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Steele County

Guide to Steele County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records

Steele County, Minnesota
Map of Minnesota highlighting Steele County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Founded February 20, 1855
County Seat Owatonna
Address Steele County Courthouse
111 E Main Street
Owatonna, MN 55060
Phone: 507.444.7450
Steele County Website


County Information

Steele County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1856 1870 1850 1856 1858

County Courthouse

Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage records from 1855, divorce, probate and court records
from 1858. County Recorder has land records from 1858. [2]


Parent County

County seat: Owatonna [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss


Populated Places[4]

  • Blooming Prairie
  • Ellendale
  • Medford
  • Owatonna
  • Aurora
  • Berlin
  • Blooming Prairie
  • Clinton Falls
  • Deerfield
  • Havana
  • Lemond
  • Medford
  • Meriden
  • Merton
  • Owatonna
  • Somerset
  • Summit

Neighboring Counties




Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

  • Records of First Lutheran Church, Blooming Prairie, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at ($).[5]



The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Steele County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.




Civil War

Civil War service men from Steele County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Steele County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company G.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company C.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F.
- 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- 2nd Minnesota Company Sharpshooters, Second Company only.


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Steele County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Online Probate Records


Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

Steele County Historical Society
1448 Austin Road
Owatonna 55060
Steele County Historical Society

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See [[Introduction to LDS Family History Centers|Family History Center] for more information. Search the [ online FHC director for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Steele County, Minnesota page 368, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Steele County Government Webpage. (accessed November 7, 2011).
  5. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society,, accessed 10 June 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 October 2015, at 18:03.
  • This page has been accessed 5,414 times.