Steeple, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Steeple

Steeple, Essex
St. Laurence Steeple, Essex .jpg
St. Laurence Steeple, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dengie
County Essex
Poor Law Union Maldon PLU
Registration District Maldon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dengie
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Steeple (St Lawrence and All Saints), is a parish, with Steeple village and Stanesgate hamlet, it is in Maldon district, Essex; on the Blackwater river, and 6 miles SE of Maldon railway station.The post town is, Southminster, under Maldon.  There is an Independent chapel.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Lawrence parish registers, Bishop's Transcripts monumental inscriptions and transcripts

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241366.


Poor Law Unions

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted 17 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 May 2014, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,366 times.