Steeple Bumpstead, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bumpstead-Steeple

Guide to Steeple Bumpstead, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Steeple Bumpstead, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Risbridge PLU
Registration District Risbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1676
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Yeldham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bumpstead-Steeple, is a parish in the district of Risbridge and county of Essex; on the Halstead and Haverhill railway, near Birdbrook station, it is 8½ miles NE by E of Thaxted. It has a post office under Halstead. There is an Independent chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Steeple Bumpstead, Essex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Steeple Bumpstead, Essex Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1676-1939 1689-1944 1689-1970
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN 1689-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241369.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted 17 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  4. 'Suffolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 3 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,805 times.