Steeple Claydon, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Steeple Claydon, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Steeple Claydon, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buckingham
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Buckingham PLU
Registration District Buckingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1575
Bishop's Transcripts: 1576
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buckingham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

CLAYDON (Steeple), a parish in the district and county of Buckingham; 1½ mile NE of Claydon r. station, and 4½ W of Winslow. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Steeple Claydon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
STEEPLE CLAYDON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1754-1837


JOIN

1754-1837


PRTS

1754-1837


Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241212.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Steeple Claydon on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72 Date accessed and adapted 9 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:40.
  • This page has been accessed 864 times.