Stelling, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Stelling, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stelling, Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stouting
County Kent
Poor Law Union Elham PLU
Registration District Elham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557; For more records see Upper Hardres
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Stelling is a village in the civil parish of Stelling Minnis in the Shepway district of Kent, see Stelling Minnis Wikipedia Part of the civil parish is the extra parochial Stelling Minnis, Kent

Stelling St Mary was originally formed as a chapel of ease to Upper Hardres, Kent Ancient Parish; a map of the parish may be found at A church near you See also Church website

The Parish Church of St Mary, Harvest Lane, Stelling Minnis, has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 91-95. Date accessed: 14 November 2013. at British History Online  Kent Churches

Resources

Civil Registration

See Elham Registration District Folkestone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Family History Library film numbers
Stelling

Parish registers Canterbury Cathedral Archives, The Precincts, Canterbury, Kent.

Canterbury Cathedral Archives reference
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives



Land Tax


Images for Stelling available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

A further set of images for Acrise, Elham, Stelling and Upper Hardres are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

The images are derived from 1987 microfilming at Kent Archives which contain the following description:

"Elham is a sub-district and a parish. The sub-district includes the parishes of Stelling and Acrise. There is no information regarding Upper Hardres. Elham is included in items 5-7, while Stelling and Upper Hardres are in item 6, and Acrise is in item 7".(original entry corrected to correct spelling of Hardres)

Kent Archives Office reference: Q/RPL/120-122



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306873.


Kent Census 

Poor Law Unions

Elham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

STELLING (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Elham, partly in the hundred of Loningborough, but chiefly in that of Stouting, lathe of Shepway E. division of Kent, 6 miles (S. by W.) from Canterbury. [1]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 200-205. Date accessed: 08 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:29.
  • This page has been accessed 941 times.