Stevens County, MinnesotaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Stevens County

Guide to Stevens County Minnesota genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Minnesota
Online Records


Stevens County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Stevens County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1862
County Seat Morris
Courthouse
Address Stevens County Courthouse
400 Colorado Avenue
Morris, MN 56267
Phone: 320-589-7287
Phone: 320.589.7414
Stevens County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1872,
marriage records from 1869, divorce and court records
from 1873 and probate records from 1901.
County Recorder has land records from 1871. [1]

History

Parent County

1862--Stevens County was created 20 February 1862 from Pierce (Eliminated 20 Feb 1862) County and unorganized territory.
County seat: Morris [2]

  • For a brief history of how Stevens County was named, click here, then select Stevens County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places[3]

Cities
Townships
  • Baker
  • Darnen
  • Donnelly
  • Eldorado
  • Everglade
  • Framnas
  • Hodges
  • Horton
  • Moore
  • Morris
  • Pepperton
  • Rendsville
  • Scott
  • Stevens
  • Swan Lake
  • Synnes

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

  • The Stevens County Historical Society has a free cemetery transcription database available here.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.

Lutheran

First Lutheran Church, Morris

  • Records of First Lutheran Church, Morris, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Court

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Stevens – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Stevens County, Minnesota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

  • Stevens County Historical Society. Stevens County. Charleston, SC: Arcadia Publishing, 2007. Print.
  • Stevens County Historical Society. The 40s: A Time of War and a Time of Peace - Stevens County in World War II. Morris, MN: Stevens County Historical Society, 1995. Print.
  • Hall, Grace Cynthia. The Wadsworth Trail. Morris, MN: Stevens County Historical Society, 2007. Print.
  • Busch, Edna Mae. History of Donnelly. 1972. Print.
  • Foley, JoAnne. Keeping Track of Alberta. 1998. Print.
  • Busch, Edna Mae. The History of Stevens County.1978. Print
  • Ritter, Carol. Progress on the Prairie - Chokio Centennial 1898-1998. Print.

Maps

Mnstevens.jpg

Military

Newspapers/Periodicals

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stevens County, Minnesota newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Stevens County Genealogical Society Newsletters
  • Morris Sun Tribune ( July 2000-Current; Weekly, Semi-Weekly)
  • Morris Tribune ( 1880-June 2000; Weekly)
  • The Morris Sun ( January 1895-June 2000; Weekly)
  • The Sun ( October 1882-January 1895; Weekly)
  • The Hancock Record ( September 1982-Current; Weekly)
  • The Hancock Record and Cyrus Dispatch ( November 1978-August 1982; Weekly)
  • Hancock Record ( February 1899-October 1978; Weekly)
  • The Morris Times ( June 1900-January 1906; Weekly)
  • The Republican Times (September 1898 [?]-May 1900 [?]; Weekly)
  • The Chokio Review ( 1913 [?]- Current; Weekly)
  • The Chokio Times ( February 1897-September 1898; Weekly)
  • The Morris Journal ( August 1882-1883 [?]; Weekly)
  • Stevens County Tribune ( June 1877 [?]- April 1880 [?]; Weekly)
  • Frontier Business ( August 1876-September 1876 [?]; Weekly)
  • The Donnelly Star ( 1915 [?]-August 1918 [?]; Weekly)
  • Stevens County Review ( 1900 [?]- After March 1904 [?]; Weekly)[5]

History of The Chokio Review

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Societies and Libraries

116 West 6th Street
Morris, MN 56267
320-589-1719

  • Stevens County Genealogical Society

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Minnesota, Stevens County Genealogical Society Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

c/o Morris Public Library
102 East 6th Street
Morris, MN 56267

102 East 6th Street
Morris, MN 56267
320-589-1634 (phone)
320-589-8892 (fax)

  • Hancock Community Library

662 6th Street
P.O. Box 305
Hancock, MN 56244
320-392-5666 (phone)
320-392-5666 (fax)

600 East 4th Street
Morris, MN 56267
320-589-6176

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stevens County, Minnesota page 369, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Stevens County Government Webpage. http://www.co.stevens.mn.us/index.aspx?nid=871 (accessed November 7, 2011).
  4. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
  5. Minnesota Historical Society Library Catalogue: Stevens County Newspapers. (accessed November 7, 2011).




 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 4,075 times.